Central Michigan University
2,421 reviews
  1. Mount Pleasant, MI
  2. 4 Year
Back to Central Michigan University Home

Reviews

2,421 reviews
  • Excellent
    348
  • Very Good
    948
  • Average
    975
  • Poor
    111
  • Terrible
    39
The first time I visited Central, I knew that was where I was going to attend college. The campus is beautiful, especially in the fall. The dorms are not entirely bad and neither is the walking distance from class to class.
  • Niche User
  • 1 day ago
The reason I chose central was because of the environment on and around campus. It's not a big school like Michigan state or U of M and that makes it easier to get connected with campus. The professors and other resources are very understanding and they care about your mental health just as much as your grade. This school has an abundance of opportunities to get involved on and off campus and they make living on campus an experience you'll remember for the rest of your life. Central has the most school spirit I've seen on a campus this size and Central was the right choice for me. So be prepared for adventure and fire up chips!
  • Sophomore
  • 7 days ago
I had/am having a great experience experience at Central Michigan University. Although some classes are on the larger side (lectures, etc.), they have professors and aids that are able to answer any possible question one may have, not to mention the great resources they have to be involved in your academics and community.
  • Freshman
  • 16 days ago
This school is amazing! Everyone is friendly and the campus is very safe. The trees are beautiful in the fall. The president of the school truly wants every student to succeed. There is something going on every night through multiple organizations.
  • Junior
  • 17 days ago
I love attending this university I most definitely do not regret my decision at all. I love the campus life, and I couldn't imagine being anywhere else. I love my hall (Beddow) and the staff that works here. I would strongly recommend this hall and this university to the incoming students.
  • Freshman
  • 18 days ago
The campus is very beautiful and set up in a way so students can get around easily. The students and administration are very supportive and want to see everyone succeed.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
I attend the Honors college here at CMU and it is so worth it. The students here are very friendly and I like all of my professors. My classes are challenging, but there are a lot of student support resources on campus. The campus is pretty and has almost everything within convenient walking distance, but is large enough that you don't feel crowded or closed in. The cafeteria menu is varied and has lots of healthy options to choose from. There are tons of student organizations on campus and ways to get involved. If you like nature, there is also a great state park trail system less than a mile from campus that's great for walking, running, or biking. There is a big party scene here too, if that's what you're into. What's best about the Honors college is that you get either a full tuition or full ride if you get in, which makes it very affordable.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
It has been a good experience thus far! I came from a community college, so I appreciate being able to study material directly relating to my field and being surrounded by similarly motivated peers and faculty. The program isn't perfect for me, as there aren't many opportunities to study biological anthropology in-depth or take any archaeology classes, but for the time being, it's a good place to get started.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
In the time I have spent at Central Michigan University, I have grown to love it. The people here are all incredibly friendly. They will greet you with a smile and hold the door open for you. Furthermore, there are several strong majors at Central. One thing that is a huge bonus for me as a Spanish major, is their wide variety of 150 study abroad programs in over 40 countries. I love Central.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
CMU has a lovely campus, but some of the buildings are fairly outdated. Many of the professors are not sufficiently educated in appropriate way of teaching students. Many of them also have such heavy accents that many students struggle to understand them. As a future teacher, I have struggled to pedegogically agree with the majority of my professors teaching philosophies.
  • Senior
  • 2 months ago
Pretty much said it all by this point. It is a great school that is like a home away from home. They push you to srive for your best and put your stamp on the world.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
They have systems in place to get people around campus at night. The safe rides system is relativity nice but I almost prefer to walk across campus due to the long wait for the route. Also as a female riding alone is almost worse because you are getting a vehicle with someone who should drive you to your next location but you do not know they will for sure.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I love living on campus. This is my second year and its even better than the first year (thanks to my roommate). I love the staff and everyone tends to be very inclusive and friendly. It is really a home away from home.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
This year there the football games that are home have drawn a huge student crowd which is way different than last year. The team is also 3-0 (first time since 2002) and took down a top 25 team last week on a controversial ruling (CMU vs OK State). There is a ton of school spirit and Central does a good job of getting each student school spirit wear. Unfortunately I work at the pool as a lifeguard and I am disappointment that we are closing and going down to one pool that is only 4 feet deep. No swimming, diving, or water polo teams anymore. It is disappointing that as a school they spent tons of money redoing a nice football field but have to close a pool because we do not have the money to put into it.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I love the friendliness of Central. It was homey from my high school campus tour to my now sophomore year. Academically as students you are pushed to strive for your best, yet the school does a great job of giving fun experiences to balance out all of the hard work they ask for. My roommate my freshmen year was very rude, but my RA helped the best she could. CMU is very inclusive and really feels like a close knit community. I love my residence hall friends, friends from class, and my coworkers from the Student Activity Center. Central offers many different jobs and pushes each person to reach their goals and work their way up into the position they want. I just love being at Central Michigan University.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
My first year at CMU I was a bit nervous because I was at a community college for 2 years so I didn't have a huge campus to walk around on but everyone that I passed by would either say hi or smile so it was a real friendly environment to be apart of. The classes aren't bad at all, the teachers actually care about how you do in their class and will help you through your struggles. The only thing I would change about it is the parking lots. It's hard to find a spot to park at during the day and sometimes you have to leave extra early do you can find a parking spot around campus. Other than that CMU is an amazing place to be at and I wouldn't want to transfer anywhere else. Fire up Chips!!
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
I have already been looking into internships I can pursue with my current degree and all of the counselors have been very helpful. They have been brain storming with me on a few career paths I would be able to take with my degree. Now I feel confident and like I have options as well as support
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I have a wide selection of courses for this semester. When I do have a question about a class most of the professors are willing to work with you even outside of office hours, and sometimes with out an appointment. They are easy to talk to and seem to truly care.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
They do send you a online course to fill out about sexual assault and how to say safe. Also how to best protect yourself from having it happen
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I haven't been at CMU for very long, but I can tell that there is a lot of school spirit! I am always getting emails about what's going happening on campus, things I can attend, and opportunities I can take advantage of! I still have yet to attend my first football game, but I have heard they are a lot of fun!
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 122
Back to Central Michigan University Home