Carson-Newman University
396 reviews
  1. Jefferson City, TN
  2. 4 Year
Back to Carson-Newman University Home

Reviews

396 reviews
  • Excellent
    66
  • Very Good
    128
  • Average
    156
  • Poor
    19
  • Terrible
    27
Worst college experience one can ask for. Dorms are awful, imagine using a sketchy gas stations bathroom. People are very hard to talk to and get to know unless you're on an athletic team. I am overly out going and have tons of friends back home. The college may have a "Christian" title, but the amount of profanity that you will hear around campus is shocking to say the least. Also rap music will be heard all hours of the night in your dorms. Don't get me wrong i love rap music, just not at 4 am. Teachers are good, they will give you an A if you just show up for class. I would give my overall experience at Carson-Newman a 0 out of 10. I will not recommend ANYONE attending this school unless you are commuting from home. I went here for one semester and I got out as soon as possible. If you want to pay $30,000 a year for crappy food, awful housing, weird people and a below average education, than this is the place for you!
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I love Carson Newman!The academic program is amazing. It is rigorous yet fun and interactive. The advisors will definitely do their best to lead you in the right direction. The sports program s awesome and you are sure to get a scholarship if you are good enough. The dorms are nice, and the student life is definitely something to look forward t. They are constantly having events to connect you with other students and have fun. The cafeteria is actually really good for café food. They also have a Chickfila on campus and a Maples Café. As far as scholarships, they offer a large variety, and are known for being one of the cheapest yet one of the most influential schools in the Southeast. You never have to worry too much for your safety, for there are always security driving around campus in mini cars to make sure all is going smoothly. I would highly recommend Carson Newman University!
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Carson-Newman is an amazing university! One of its best features is definitely it's professors. They genuinely care for each student and will go out of their way to ensure their success. Just be ready for not the best dorm situation.
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
Carson Newman Admininstration is out recruiting and teachers/advisors are there to help with job opportunities.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
Still learning as I am on campus
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
A few of the dorms are older but still in good shape for the age of them. They do a great job keeping all up to a good standard.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
So far, I seen nothing but the best from the admininstrative offices and teaching staff. Everyone has been very eager in helping me with my first year at Carson Newman University.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
Education majors are presented with lots of opportunities upon graduating that a degree from another school might not come with.
  • College Student
  • 8 months ago
CN is the perfect place for me! Small class sizes and professors that care about their students as individuals make all the difference!
  • College Student
  • 8 months ago
I feel very safe on this campus. There are always security personnel around to help.
  • College Student
  • 8 months ago
I love being so close to my friends!
  • College Student
  • 8 months ago
We may not be the best, but the sporting events provide something fun to do!
  • College Student
  • 8 months ago
I love the homey feel of Carson-Newman. I know that my professors want to see me succeed beyond the classroom!
  • College Student
  • 8 months ago
I have known several people who were offered jobs before the graduated simply because they attended school here.
  • College Junior
  • 9 months ago
The professors are amazing! The classes are hard, but worthwhile.
  • College Junior
  • 9 months ago
There are always things, but I have always felt safe around campus.
  • College Junior
  • 9 months ago
The campus is wonderful, it is just a little bit expensive.
  • College Junior
  • 9 months ago
I haven't been involved with any of the Greek life, but I have heard wonderful things about it.
  • College Junior
  • 9 months ago
They look at each person who is applying - and if you don't have a great GPA, just talk to them and explain why, and they will work with you.
  • College Junior
  • 9 months ago
This is a great school for athletes, and more than just football. Soccer, baseball, swimming, and volleyball all are large parts of the campus.
  • College Junior
  • 9 months ago
  • 1 of 20
Back to Carson-Newman University Home