Carnegie Mellon University
1,293 reviews
  1. Pittsburgh, PA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Carnegie Mellon University Home

Reviews

1,293 reviews
  • Excellent
    239
  • Very Good
    446
  • Average
    498
  • Poor
    77
  • Terrible
    33
I have enjoyed my time so far at Carnegie Mellon. The university itself is very challenging with brilliant professors and researchers. While many students that attend Carnegie Mellon are culturally diverse, a lot of people are motivated through high pressure situations. At times this could mean that students care more about their major and completing assignments and projects that socializing. However, being involved in one of the 200+ clubs is the best way to open up and meet others.
  • Senior
  • 17 days ago
Im in the business school and first semester was pretty tough. It's very nonstop and you need good timemanaging skills. You meet a lot of people and will learn a lot about yourself.
  • Freshman
  • 18 days ago
Carnegie Mellon is a great place, full of really talented and smart MIT rejects. Although it's a bit too career oriented for my tastes (ie. everyone is all about jobs, no one really cares about grad school), the jobs kids at CMU get are great. The professors are wonderful, and because of the small size, you can expect to get a lot of individualized attention and care if you seek it out. Also wish CMU had an aerospace engineering program or more classes in theoretical math.
  • Freshman
  • 19 days ago
Carnegie Mellon University is a truly diverse community with highly intelligent people who strive to achieve realistic goals that enhance the quality of life. The school is especially well known for its majors related to science and technology.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
A wonderful institution overall. The campus is beautiful and peaceful located near other universities and a city. Great professors and lots of opportunities for extra help. Awesome student life activities. Various housing opportunities on and off campus. Truly a school that you will be proud to call your own.
  • Alum
  • 2 months ago
You won't be getting much out of your social life at CMU (the party scene is nonexistent, but you can still find parties if you really want to go out) because everyone is awkward and a hermit. However, the academics are stellar: extremely rigorous and tough. Students here are also ridiculously smart. It's both inspiring and intimidating, but so far I am enjoying myself, despite the sleep deprivation and constant stress.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Professors are so passionate and are willing to do their bests to help students learn. I get so much attention from the administration and I feel so motivated by the people I'm surrounded by.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Incredibly challenging academic environment. Regardless of your program, you will be pushed to your limits here; however, the sheer scale and reach of groundbreaking research and innovation that happens here will make it all worthwhile. By taking advantage of the incredible opportunities that are available here, you can race to the head of your field and will graduate prepared to take on just about any challenge.
  • Alum
  • 3 months ago
The administration is working really diligently to address a lot of the social and cultural problems that Carnegie Mellon traditionally has, but it's still very much a transitional period. We're finally starting to talk about issues like mental health, diversity, and sexual assault, which is an important starting place, but there's still a lot of work to be done. Nothing about Carnegie Mellon is easy. You don't come here to have fun. You come here because you really want to work to be the best, which you never will be.
  • Senior
  • 4 months ago
Parties are usually in houses, unless you bother to count frat house parties, which will always suck to some degree. The best parties usually turn out to be medium sized ones with people you know. The party scene would have a better impact if it didn't consistently suck and if campus police didn't shut down anything remotely fun-sounding.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
There are parties, but they usually suck (bad music, bad alcohol, sometimes bad people), and they are constantly being shut down by the campus police who apparently have nothing better to do. If you're old enough, you can go to bars, where they'll have none of the aforementioned nonsense.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
The professors here don't care about their students. Sure, they all want us to theoretically learn the material, but they don't really try to help. They think that a 'C' is okay to give to a hardworking student because "it's passing", but they fail to realize what we're all really here for: TO GET JOBS. News flash! Getting a job is hard to do when your GPA makes you look like an idiot.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
There are definitely POCs, although not enough black or hispanic students in my opinion.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
They provide escort services at night which is really great!
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 4 months ago
Very well known school with many job and internship opportunities.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 4 months ago
All my professors have been very smart and care a lot about their students, however, not all have been great teachers. That has more to do with teaching style and what works best for you, I definitely recommend going to review sessions with the TA's since they've taken the course before and know what can help you.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Literally just search professors within your desired field and ask to meet with them to talk about their work and job opportunities. They're very helpful.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
I feel pretty safe on campus and all the incidents I've heard of occurred within the community but off-campus. There are emergency phones located on the outskirts of campus just in case and Pittsburgh is actually considered one of the safest cities.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
It really depends on what dorm you end up in, some are right on campus (like Donner) and others are quite a trek (Rez on Fifth). Sizes and whether or not you have AC/kitchen/etc. also depends on where you end up living.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
I'm in a sorority - which was totally unexpected by friends and family - and I wouldn't have it any other way. I personally love greek life and am very grateful for all the people I've met through it. However, I do recognize issues with some frats being too big and not having the best brother/sisterhood. You don't have to join greek life to have fun at school, but if it's something you're at least considering or curious about I definitely recommend that you go to some of the rush/pre-rush events to get a feel for the community.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 65
Back to Carnegie Mellon University Home