Carleton College
464 reviews
  1. Northfield, MN
  2. 4 Year
Back to Carleton College Home

Reviews

464 reviews
  • Excellent
    112
  • Very Good
    180
  • Average
    147
  • Poor
    15
  • Terrible
    10
Carleton has an incredible community of passionate individuals. The environment is quite intense, but I'm grateful to have experienced it. I've been forced to learn how to ask for support and take care of myself. And I've found many people--students and professors--who care about my well being and inspire me to grow.
  • Senior
  • 27 days ago
The school has an incredibly open community; cliques are fluid and almost anyone is welcome and can feel comfortable sitting with any group. Dining hall food is great, although there are few good restaurants in the area. Classes are fantastic and the trimester system works very well for people who live far away (winter break extends from before thanksgiving to after new years). In addition, the trimester system allows students to fit three academic terms into one year while focusing more intensely on less during those terms, all the while still leaving room for a long winter break.
The biggest downside for me is that students seem less individual and more self-effacing than some other similar liberal arts colleges.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
Absolutely adore this school in every way possible... incredible academics, a once in a lifetime opportunity of learning in its purest form.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
Coming from a very violent background, Carleton is just amazing: I do not have to worry anytime about people coming in and out of rooms and buildings, and anyone can walk 247 alone without being in danger.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Residential life is one of the best parts of Carleton. Students, staff and security do a great job keeping this place tidy, comfortable and fun every single day. I just love it so much.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
People do not care about varsity sports, but many people do participate in intramural sports.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
The class selection is so amazing that it is almost overwhelming. All of the classes are so interesting and quirky -- this term I am taking a course called the Anthropology of Humor which has been absolutely fascinating. The professors all knew my name by the end of the first week and made an effort to connect with each of us. It is hard to come by professors as passionate and caring as the professors at Carleton.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
The Career Center reaches out to each student and has incredible programming designed to help students get internships, externships, connect with alumni, and find jobs for after graduation. I feel very good about my job prospects upon graduation.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I feel generally safe on campus, even walking around alone at night. Also, security is very responsive and will always walk you anywhere at any time if you feel unsafe. Sexual assault is an issue as it is on most American college campuses, but I do feel that the administration and students are taking active steps towards diminishing the problem. It seems that the rate of sexual assault at Carleton is lower than other campuses of similar size/setting.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Some of the dorms aren't as nice as other but all of them are nicer than the average dorm at other college campuses.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
The rec center is very nice and well-equipped. We also have a state of the art climbing/bouldering facility.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Carleton is everything I had hoped for in a college experience and more. The people are all incredibly down to earth and ambitious yet not competitive. I am getting a liberal arts education in its finest sense surrounded by other extremely bright individuals who are passionate about learning. I would describe the overall culture of the school as quirky, but in the best way. I feel so blessed to be attending a college where the professors truly care about their students and I can receive an amazing education while surrounded by some of the friendliest, most peculiar, interesting individuals I have ever met.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
For students under 21 it's pretty much nonexistent. There's one bar in town that seems to enjoy having Carleton students around, but it's fairly hard to get in if you're underage. Even if you are 21, it's not that great.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Usually parties are between cliques on campus, with a few club sport progressives. Other than that, they're nothing much.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Phenomenal. Professors are for the most part excellent, and very few are concerned about only doing their research. Most are friendly, although a few can be a bit hard to approach, the vast majority are kind and willing to help students in office hours. Curriculum is a bit limited given the amount of faculty, so course diversity in smaller departments is lacking. Registration is easy and you can almost always get your first-choice classes, depending on your interests. Workload is pretty high, but then again this depends on your major and how you balance your classes. Study abroad is crazy popular and most do it at least once in a country of their choice - the Cambridge program is excellent.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Diversity here is okay. The school has a crazy liberal bias and if you're not an ultra-liberal, prepared to be called a "racist" or "sexist" rather quickly. Ethnic diversity is lacking, but that's rather common among top liberal arts colleges. Economic diversity is slightly better, and there is also a vibrant LGBT community as well.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
If you don't drink it's a bit difficult to have fun Friday nights, unfortunately. While the students try to make partying inclusive, it is predominantly based on drunken revelry.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Absolutely one of the safest towns and campus communities in America. The biggest concern is drunken Friday nights, to be quite honest.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
While Carleton is virtually unheard of outside Minnesota, the skills it develops in its students make their ostensibly useless liberal arts degree very worthwhile and marketable. I've seen English and philosophy majors land fantastic jobs, but even more important, perhaps, meaningful jobs.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Courses can be a bit limited in variety in smaller departments, but the interactions you have with profs makes up for it. Classes a mostly discussion-based, although some intro classes lean on the side of interactive lecture rather than just pure discussion. Class sizes for non-science majors are fantastic and average around 10-25, depending on the prof's popularity. Science class sizes tend to be on the larger side, by Carleton standards, at around 40-60 or more for intro classes. The best departments by far are political science, biology, chemistry, geology, religion, psychology, math, and English, while the weakest are sociology/anthropology, linguistics, physics, statistics, and economics.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 24
Back to Carleton College Home