California State University - Fresno
2,259 reviews
  1. Fresno, CA
  2. 4 Year
Back to California State University - Fresno Home

Reviews

2,259 reviews
  • Excellent
    244
  • Very Good
    819
  • Average
    1015
  • Poor
    139
  • Terrible
    42
I would like to see the cost of classes lower considering that Fresno is a city that has one of the lowest average income per household in California. The people in this city are struggling with everyday life and education becomes a burden in all ways possible. I noticed the campus has a great daycare program but it is understaffed and not big enough, with a wait list that is unbelievably long. It would be helpful to create parking garages that have security at night and during the day.
  • Senior
  • 2 days ago
This college has given me a perspective on life. They have allowed me to prosper and learn from my mistakes while having guidance.
  • Freshman
  • 3 days ago
At Fresno State I was able to study my major with out leaving my home town, and the campus provide me with a good experience to learn and also it provided me with a good time and to meet with new people.
  • Freshman
  • 7 days ago
Fresno state is a great college for a great price. Professor's are caring and want to help you secede. Great school for Ag, business, and engineering majors. Overall campus is really nice. Student life and involvement is average.
  • Sophomore
  • 14 days ago
One of the lowest costing schools in the CSU system, surrounded by about 1 million people in Fresno CA area. Great programs and resources. Plenty of student organizations and student life, the drinking scene can be big since Fresno, CA has been on the top drunkest city list a few years ago. Not uncommon to hear sports players and students getting into trouble unfortunately with the law, DUI, partying (even a threat last semester leading one student to go to jail) etc. Not the greatest city when it comes to crime. Guard your belongings and watch when you walk to your car, apt near school, leaving and coming to campus day AND night. When you enter FS and every year as a student(entire CSU as well), you are required to take an online assesment about abuse, drinking, and other social behaviors among students and relationships. The library was renovated years ago and its a staple of the campus. Great areas to study or get Starbucks Coffee (busiest location in Fresno)
  • Senior
  • 16 days ago
I liked the beautiful campus and supportive faculty! I learned to live on my own and adjust to surroundings. It was convenient being right next to campus for studies.
  • Alum
  • 17 days ago
The art program is very limited in classes and overall budget. The art building needs to be updated and expanded.
  • Graduate Student
  • 17 days ago
Fresno state has taught me a lot and has helped me grow as a person I want to be the first college graduate in my family
  • Senior
  • 17 days ago
California State University, Fresno (Fresno State) is a welcoming university. It boasts of opportunity and instills lifelong learning upon the students that attend the university. The students and faculty are always working together to achieve their goals, and presents plenty of open doors in which to achieve those goals.
  • Junior
  • 20 days ago
I really enjoy the positive environment that Fresno State strives to offer its students. Fresno State is always making an effort to get students involved in the various programs, clubs and events that the campus has to offer. There is no better way to make a student far away from home feel so much at home. There is a wide array of both extracurricular and academic activities offered on campus. The only thing that I do not like about Fresno State is the parking situation. There is not enough parking available for the students that drive to school, but there is a lot of transportation services offered free by the university as well.
  • Junior
  • 23 days ago
I like that it is a diverse campus. You get to see and meet people of different places and backgrounds. So far, most of my professors have been great as well. The campus is really good at telling students about the available resources as well.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Haven't been going here for long but i say its not bad. From what i've heard the nursing program is really good. There are plenty of clubs and a lot of ways to get involved on campus. I live at home so i commute to campus but there doesn't seem to be many housing options. There is a police station on campus which is pretty cool and they always send out emails if any crime happens on or around campus. I would recommend this school to people who are looking to be in a calmer part of california.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I absolutely love this school. I like the diversity of it and the teachers actually like helping you and counselors make sure you are on track. I came a long way to transfer to a csu I never imagined choosing fresno, but I am so glad I am here and can see my experience here being a true blessing.I really am making a lot of friends and family proud coming here to obtain my Bachelors Degree.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
I love the diversity on our campus, the different groups and clubs make you feel more welcomed and you get the chance to experience new Worlds all in one campus. They're are great services from counseling, health, or others that help students accomadate their needs. The campus is a safe environment and I do not feel unsafe while there. One change I would like to see made is more parking.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
I love everything about fresno state. this an amazing school to explore your careers and it has the best nursing programs ever known. they also have an amazing age program and and criminology program that i am currently in. it's amazing.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I like the educational environment, i only wish there were more things that involve student activities
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Fresno State University is a really interesting school that provides many resources and classes that other schools might not offer.
  • Niche User
  • 3 months ago
Fresno State is nice because it is near my home. The campus has a very nice library bust most of the buildings are old. My major has been disappointing with instructors changing and having to fill classes last minute.
  • Senior
  • 3 months ago
The university is very diverse. I love meeting new people. The teachers are all well prepared. Classes are hard but manageable.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Cal State Fresno is a very known school in my area. I was afraid I was going to be dissapointed with the campus, but I was not. The campus did not have a lot of students around 10 am, but at 12pm everyone is on campus. I realized that the campus had more students than I expect, although the class room size are not very huge. Additionally, I was impressed by the amount of majors Fresno has. One of the things I disliked about Fresno was their food court. The food court is small but has more than a couple restaurants. Then the issue comes, every food smell combined into one creating a very gross smell once you go in. I would also like to emphasize that there are no healthy choices in their food court, aside from a smoothie place. As a vegan I see that as an issue, because I've noticed a lot of schools have healthy choices, just not Fresno State.
  • Niche User
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 113
Back to California State University - Fresno Home