California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo
3,382 reviews
  1. San Luis Obispo, CA
  2. 4 Year
Back to California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo Home

Reviews

3,382 reviews
  • Excellent
    660
  • Very Good
    1320
  • Average
    1115
  • Poor
    215
  • Terrible
    72
The campus is great - it feels like home to me. Everybody is so nice, even the professors. They all really want you to succeed. The social life is good, but there's not much to do as a freshman unless you bring your car to school because the buses don't have routes to the beaches, which was a major attraction for me personally. The food choices stink, but they're building a new place so hopefully it has good stuff.
  • Freshman
  • 19 days ago
I love attending Cal Poly! After just one quarter, I really have nothing bad to say about my experience here. I would have to say the best part has been the environment and the incredible people I am surrounded by. Everyone from the staff to the professors to the students is helpful and friendly and I feel so welcome here. They did a great job at helping the freshman to have a smooth transition to college life and to make friends. The food is not what comes from a gourmet five star restaurant, but this is college, and there are so many options for everyone. Even more options will be available soon with the new housing and dining areas being built. The surroundings are beautiful and the campus is very active as well! Students are very driven to succeed and I always feel safe on campus. I am so glad that I get to call myself a mustang!
  • Freshman
  • 25 days ago
I do not regret my decision of going to Cal Poly at all. I would choose Cal Poly every time if I had the chance to pick my college. While the campus isn't very diverse, everyone is very friendly and easy to make friends no matter what major you are in. The campus food is not the best but they are making renovations to improve the campus dining and create more food options. I love how the classrooms are smaller and the variety of classes I can take.
  • Sophomore
  • 25 days ago
Cal poly is an incredible school. Countless reports have shown Cal Poly ranks very high with ROI. Many students receive job offers months before graduating and Cal Poly classes prepare them for the "real world".
  • Senior
  • 25 days ago
What they advertise is wildly different from what it's really like. Felt unsafe even in my own dorm room with the door locked. Friend received death threats. University is indifferent to criticism, only gives fraternities light slap on the wrist for rampant misogyny and racism. Only cares about university image, students be damned.
If I could give a negative amount of stars I would. Don't apply unless you're a white cishet male.
  • Niche User
  • 25 days ago
Cal Poly has been the best experience of my life so far. I came in as a freshman in 2013 and it was the best decision I have made. My freshman door mate is now my best friend and I have made such amazing friends here. The downtown scene is definitely fun as well. San Luis Obispo is the definition of a college town, every where you go there are college kids, which is what makes it fun! I played for the basketball team there and the athletic environment is awesome also. There are different scenes that you could be apart of but I bet they all are fun, every one is free to be who they want and it's awesome!
  • Senior
  • 28 days ago
Being an International student at Cal Poly, I was very very scared to start college. I doubted studying abroad a million times; however, my worries were pointless: studying at Cal Poly was the best decision I have ever made. Not only there is a huge system that supports students in every aspect of their lives—from academic struggles to nutrition advice—but students are very welcoming and friendly. I've made tons of friends (and I am not an extrovert or extremely friendly person) and found balance between my academic and social life (with the help of my Resident Advisors and teachers, who were all very eager to help and support me.
  • Freshman
  • 28 days ago
My experience at Cal Poly has been one that I do not deserve. Academically strong for my major, Electrical Engineering, I have learned quality material from very caring and intelligent professors that could answer practically any question I had. Extracurricularly, there are so many clubs that you can join, whether the club be an engineering related club(where there are several that students can choose related to their major) or a social/cultural one, where students can make friends with those who they have things in common with.
  • Sophomore
  • 1 month ago
BEST UNIVERSITY HANDS DOWN. I would recommend Cal Poly to anyone. I have only been here for about 4 months and absolutely love it. There are so many amazing professors and the student life is great.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
I have had many friends that have chosen this school over UC's, showing how much of a good reputation it holds. Those who go there say that not only are the classes wonderful, but the community on campus is amazing as well. Although it is a State University, many prefer Cal Poly over many of the Universities of California.
  • Niche User
  • 1 month ago
Their campus is very beautiful. The environment is positive and nature is involved all around the campus.
  • Niche User
  • 1 month ago
I love the community, there are so many different things to do! Hiking, the beach, a cute downtown trip, fun food places! The weather is perfect, you get every season. One thing that is very noticeable and that the school is working on (slowly but surely) is the lack of diversity on campus.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I have only just started here at California Polytechnic State University as a Freshman this quarter, but from what I've seen and gotten to know, the professors here are great, and the people on campus are great. The location in San Luis Obispo is also a plus.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I love Caly Poly a lot, their Week of Welcome for freshman really really works and it makes you really good friends. Everyone at Cal Poly is nice, and everyone wants you to succeed. It is very scholarly though, classes are hard and you really have to work hard to get a good grade. As much as academics are important, the party scene here is pretty big. It isn't very diverse here, most of the students are white, followed by an Asian population.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
The academics are really good, professors will help with whatever you need, and the surrounding area is beautiful. Sometimes it's really hard to get the classes you want and tuition is pretty high compared to the other state schools. There is an extreme lack of diversity and it is the whitest school in the California public university system, something I wish I knew when I applied here.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Cal Poly is in such an amazing location–there are oceans, mountains, lakes, and beautiful weather. Classes are challenging, but thats what you're here for! Make sure to keep an open mind and a positive attitude in college.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Need to see a better reflection and effort in diversity. The university has a strong background and reputation to uphold, but lacks few social structures and systems that could better enhance entire student population and interaction.
  • Senior
  • 3 months ago
As a student, I can really say that the whole "learn by doing" motto has played its role in every class I've had since freshman year. The professors here are truly motivated in seeing us apply what we've learned into the real world, and watching us succeed in the process. The environment for this type of teaching and learning dynamic is perfect here in Cal Poly, and SLO as well. I've met amazing people here and I'm so happy to be part of the Cal Poly community.
  • Senior
  • 3 months ago
I have only been here for a month and the only complaint I have is that the vegetarian food on campus is not that great. Things that actually matter (academics, campus life, transportation, the city) have not let me down.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I love the number of opportunities on campus and the culture fostered in SLO. The past three years have been absolutely amazing and I can't see myself in any other kind of college.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 170
Back to California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo Home