Brigham Young University
6,733 reviews
  1. Provo, UT
  2. 4 Year
Back to Brigham Young University Home

Reviews

6,733 reviews
  • Excellent
    1994
  • Very Good
    2773
  • Average
    1558
  • Poor
    231
  • Terrible
    177
Brigham Young University is a private school owned by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It has a strong focus on academics. The student population is very racially diverse, but could be more diverse in political opinions and religion beliefs. One cool thing about BYU is that more than half the student population speaks at least one foreign language.
  • Sophomore
  • 1 min ago
Brigham Young University is a great place. There are many different programs available to the students and many of those programs are nationally ranked. BYU cares about the students that attend; they hold many activities that encourage students to interact with each other. It feels like the university is one large family.
One thing about BYU that is not the most friendly is that it becomes so competitive to be accepted that students forget why they are even going to school. Once they are accepted they just brag about how they were able to get into the university. They don't care about the school as much as they should which is a problem when those who really care about their education aren't admitted.
Overall Brigham Young University is a great university to attend and like any other university there are issues, but it doesn't stop the students and faculty from loving their "home".
  • Sophomore
  • 1 day ago
Brigham Young University, it's a cheap school, it's very fun and the whole place seems to stand out from any other college campus.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 days ago
I have had a very uplifting experience here. It has been fun to be involved in the choirs. The people here are very friendly and awesome.
  • Senior
  • 2 days ago
I really enjoy BYU, the tuition is cheap, students are clean and drug-free, professors are able to talk about religion with their students. It's a really nice atmosphere.
  • Graduate Student
  • 2 days ago
I love the atmosphere of BYU. It is a welcoming and positive environment for those who are starting their university experience. It is challenging academically and pushes you to do your best in school and in life. The professors care about you most of the time and people are very open to get to know others. It is an excellent school that I am grateful to be attending.
  • Junior
  • 3 days ago
Great atmosphere and great professors. The campus life is lots of fun and there's never a dull moment. Overall an awesome experience.
  • Sophomore
  • 6 days ago
My sister is going to this school and loves it! She loves being part of a school that has so much spirit!
  • Niche User
  • 9 days ago
Brigham Young University is an awesome school. the professors and academics are very focused on helping you learn. the campus is very clean. housing can be a bit away from campus and there aren't very many things to do for fun in that area. but overall, great place to study!
  • Niche User
  • 10 days ago
BYU has a great atmosphere. The students are very focused at this church based school on their classes and their academic goals, but it is also a very fun and light atmoshpere to be in as well.
  • Freshman
  • 16 days ago
I really like that there's so many reviews about everything and how organize it is. I also like the varieties of things you can do on this website, I would not change anything.
  • Niche User
  • 19 days ago
I've been going to Brigham Young University for a while, about 2 or 3 years and am working toward a bachelors in Computer Science. I began looking into the animation department before deciding this, and have found both areas of campus to have friendly and outgoing kind people and professors that are passionate about the subject they teach, especially when you ask about their experience and why they choose to teach. They are very well educated and handle students concerns efficiently generally speaking. I feel good about going to this school, the atmosphere is really clean, it is easy to focus on an education, and a strong focus on learning pervade this school and its students. I'm glad to be here and to be getting the high quality education for the workforce that it provides me with.
  • Junior
  • 22 days ago
Great value! Beautiful campus. There is always something going on. Many activities and clubs. Most people are really friendly and I feel very safe on campus.
  • Sophomore
  • 22 days ago
I love BYU! It really is a very unique place. There are so many opportunities for research, service, and travel. There are no limits to your potential here. Classes are rigorous and professors are fantastic. It is a great, uplifting christian environment and it is easy to live one's faith.
  • Sophomore
  • 24 days ago
Overall, BYU is a great school and I can't wait to go back. The best thing about the school is that everyone, including the teachers, is friendly and caring, and you will never be alone.
  • Freshman
  • 25 days ago
Brigham Young University is full of life and good times. Although most people here are of the Latter Day Saint religion, they know how to throw a great party. The only down side is there isn't much diversity, and the professors can be kind of sticklers. However, you can bet your bottom dollar those hard to please professors are going to make you a better student.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
GE's like American Heritage and PS100 are tough, and it's hard to understand the material unless you put in some serious hours at the TA labs. Great colleges and majors offered here, professors are great once you get into your program. Affordable tuition, especially as an LDS student. On campus housing is pretty nice, but pricey. There's always some kind of activity going on on campus, and the athletics are great and fun to go to especially as a freshman.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
BYU has a reputation of being a very social and freshman-friendly campus. However, I have felt very out of place at this University. I enjoy the LDS gospel principles but there are so many cliques it is unreal.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
The school is good with a beautiful campus. I love the area because of the easy access to outdoor activities. It'd be nice if the administration was a bit easier to work with.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
I love BYU! There is a great feel to the campus. People are friendly, places are easy to find, and class sizes are great. Provo is a great location, with lot's to do nearby, especially if you are in to the outdoors.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
  • 1 of 337
Back to Brigham Young University Home