Brigham Young University
6,773 reviews
  1. Provo, UT
  2. 4 Year
Back to Brigham Young University Home

Reviews

6,773 reviews
  • Excellent
    2020
  • Very Good
    2785
  • Average
    1559
  • Poor
    232
  • Terrible
    177
It's a great university if you're looking to combine a reputable education with a strong religious experience.
  • Freshman
  • 2 days ago
BYU is an amazing school. It's beautiful, has a strong community for any interest group, and offers a lot in the means of affordable education. My only gripe with BYU is in the enormous class sizes, essentially making it impossible to get real time with a professor.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 days ago
BYU has been the greatest place to be. Not only have I received an amazing education, but I also have learned to be a better person.
  • Junior
  • 5 days ago
I am currently in my second semester of my freshman year and to be quite honest it has been so crazy! I have loved learning here and BYU does a spectacular job creating a safe learning environment. Sometimes I feel like most classes are extremely bias in one direction. It's such a fun experience to learn among people who are so similar to you in religion but it does not create for a whole lot of diversity.
  • Freshman
  • 6 days ago
Such an amazing School in every aspect! The professors are amazing and provide great insights and resources. The grounds and facilities and immense and beautiful. And most of all it is such a nice and kind student body.
  • Sophomore
  • 7 days ago
BYU not only provides an environment supportive of high academic standards but also of high moral and spiritual standards as well. All students attending are expected to sign and live by the honor code which means the majority of students you associate with have a high level of integrity. There are many very fun activities and BYU is one of the most affordable universities in the nation.
  • Freshman
  • 8 days ago
I love BYU. My favorite thing about it is how nice everyone is. The professors seem to really be interested in having us learn, but also trust us with responsibility, and the staff is great too. I have really enjoyed my time. I think there could be more food options and more space to eat but other than that BYU has been great.
  • Freshman
  • 8 days ago
I love BYU! I have learned so much while attending. The professors are intelligent and willing to help each student. I love the feel that is on the campus at BYU. It is a happy, fun, and encouraging atmosphere. The only thing I would change is the late fee at the testing center. I think it is quite ridiculous that they charge money to take a test. Other than that, I love BYU.
  • Junior
  • 9 days ago
It is a really uplifting place that seems to always be full of pretty happy people. If you want to be somewhere where there is not really a dull moment in student life and involvement BYU is the place. The teachers are pretty good for the most part and the buildings are okay. It'd be nice to see some updating on the buildings to current styles.
  • Niche User
  • 10 days ago
Awful. Sexist. Bad weather. Bad teachers. Bad school policies. Mean students. Please get me out of here. Religion classes are needlessly hard and take the spirit out of the gospel. If you aren't on board with a Trump presidency you will not be welcome with open arms.
  • Junior
  • 13 days ago
I love the atmosphere there! Being in the student section at all the games is always exciting and fantastic! The classes are definitely challenging, but worth the effort. You won't find any alcohol at these college parties, but their signature chocolate milk is just as satisfying.
  • Freshman
  • 14 days ago
I love BYU because it offers a safe environment to learn and stretch yourself. The academics here are top notch, the campus is beautiful, and the price of tuition simply cannot be beat! If I had to do it all over again I would take better advantage of the great academic counseling system that they have here. You can basically go in on the first day of your freshman year and get all of your classes mapped out for the duration of your major. It’s so stress-relieving and in my experience all of the counselors have been kind and helpful.
  • Junior
  • 14 days ago
Before attending BYU, I wasn't sure what to expect. A group of around 30,000 Mormons is odd enough but get them all going to school together? That seems very strange. I arrived hesitant to befriend anyone other than my roommate. However, as soon as I stepped foot on campus, I noticed the mountains. At first they loomed intimidatingly, but gradually, they became a message of hope. The mountains are like the university itself: unfailingly there no matter what happens in your life. The campus changes, the people leave, the faculty retire, but the spirit of Brigham Young University stays the same. We all have a love for the place. Everything combines into the unique experience of only BYU. And the Mormons turned out to not be too bad, either.
  • Freshman
  • 15 days ago
I've loved being a student at BYU. It's been a safe and fun environment for me. There are so many smart, accomplished, nice people here with high standards and I really appreciate that. Classes often represent a significant academic challenge, and they encourage learning and growth in multiple areas of life.
  • Freshman
  • 15 days ago
I love that at Brigham Young University there are high moral standards. All of the students are very positive and friendly even if it is a very competitive school. There are a lot of job opportunities, the professors are fantastic and helpful, and there are always a ton of fun on campus activities.
  • Sophomore
  • 15 days ago
I love how passionate the faculty, students, and alumni are about Brigham Young University. Everyone there shows such great promise and potential, and it makes me feel like I do too. BYU really helps students to feel like they are a part of something bigger than themselves and to be actively engaged. I have never once felt like there was not someone I could connect to in my classes and my professors were so kind and caring about my education. I honestly love every part of BYU.
  • Freshman
  • 16 days ago
Amazing school. Great education in and out of the class room. Prepares you not just for career, but for life.
  • Freshman
  • 16 days ago
Love BYU! Great atmosphere. People really care about their studies, and professors really care about their students. There are so many clubs and activities to get involved in, there really is a place for everyone. It isn't as diverse, as it is a religious community of mostly LDS persons who are white.
  • Alum
  • 17 days ago
I love the high quality education and inexpensive tuition. Professors are knowledgeable and friendly for the most part, but there is a huge pressure from peers and others to get married.
  • Senior
  • 17 days ago
I appreciate how much BYU not only believes in excellence in education but also takes a student's life and health into consideration. There are weekly club night options, a strong push for spiritual growth and opportunities offered along with it, help for the future after graduation, and they even try to make sure you don't work yourself to death with a max on hours if you have an on-campus job. I love the mission, goals, and overall feeling that I get when I am on campus and in classes at BYU.
  • Senior
  • 17 days ago
  • 1 of 339
Back to Brigham Young University Home