Brigham Young University - Hawaii
647 reviews
  1. Laie, HI
  2. 4 Year
Back to Brigham Young University - Hawaii Home

Reviews

647 reviews
  • Excellent
    131
  • Very Good
    235
  • Average
    218
  • Poor
    33
  • Terrible
    30
I love this University. It has a very diverse student body. I have friends from all over the world. It is a small school with small classes and my professors know me by name. Small classes make it easier to have one on one time and get extra help from your teachers. Very good on campus housing and in a very nice community. Lots of stuff to do on and around campus.
  • Sophomore
  • 9 days ago
BYU-H is an amazing school. Class sizes are always small, your professors know you personally and they care about your success. Tons of resources for students, great staff, always something fun going on. There are so many clubs you can join, and loads of diversity. Great school.
  • Junior
  • 15 days ago
The aspect I like about this campus is the teachers and counselors. Teachers want you to succeed and will help you to the best of their ability. The counselors also are very helpful in planning your path to graduation. They find ways to make it happen, even if faced with setbacks such as multiple failed classes, lack of funds or being put on hold for missing information while applying to school.

One thing the school could improve on is building closer relationships between the students and administration members by listening to the students and interacting with them more to understand what they are saying. Plans and Agendas are good but useless if everyone under you fights against it.
  • Junior
  • 20 days ago
I love Brigham Young University Hawaii because it is an extremely diverse campus. We have multiple students from different countries in every single one of my classes and it gives a great perspective to class discussions.
  • Senior
  • 1 month ago
BYU-Hawaii provides a safe, wholesome environment for its students. Our administration strives to maintain a clean, spiritual atmosphere where students can study, work, and socialize. Here, I have been able to grow and mature as a person. I love being a student at BYU-Hawaii because I feel like I can gain my education free of the distractions of a raging party scene and other disruptions common to the college environment.
This does not, however, deny us the opportunity to have a fun college experience. Living so near the beach is a luxury, and our activities committee is constantly planning fun, wholesome events for us to enjoy.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
It is a great school, but very hard to get started there if you don't already know how it runs. Somewhat disorganized. Professors are great and always willing to help. Housing is a nightmare unless you have the right connections.
  • Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
I absolutely love this school! The staff is hardworking, and helpful. I love the people here, and being able to learn about and make friends from different cultures. I feel safe on campus and I'm glad I choose to come here!
  • Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Facilities are not great but sports are still pretty important.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
Great location with great people. Teachers can seem a bit unqualified at times.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
The only parties here are school dances.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
There isn't really anything going on here.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
The classes, once in your niche study are small enough to get to know the teachers.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
Lots of diversity, it's a multicultural campus.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
Since BYUH is a really religious school, I always feel safe on campus. The school is also very small. So the chances that you are out walking around by yourself or anything is slim. Your family is always out and ready to help if anything does happen to go wrong.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 6 months ago
It is pretty easy to get a job near BYUH. The only catch is most of the on campus jobs do not pay that well. They are fun and you meet a lot of people. Most of the shops near the school are usually hiring.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 6 months ago
I have not ever lived on campus. Most of my friends have though. They all have had nothing but good things to say about the housing. It is a very social place to live. The rules that BYUH has implemented are always obeyed. People that stay on campus always feel safe, especially because they have campus security.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 6 months ago
At BYUH we have a lot of different cultures and ethnicities. I don't recall having too many greeks in the school. Nonetheless BYUH is always very inviting to all people.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 6 months ago
This is the last semester of varsity sports. BYUH is getting away with all sports. Now the intramural teams are becoming bigger and bigger. The school spirit is very strong. We like to come together to play sports. Everyone is so sad to get rid of sports.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 6 months ago
Classes are small so students receive one on one help from teachers and faculty. The course options are wide and provide opportunity to learn a variety of skills.
  • College Freshman
  • 7 months ago
The Brigham Young schools have connections in many major industries. They have many options for internships and careers.
  • College Freshman
  • 7 months ago
  • 1 of 33
Back to Brigham Young University - Hawaii Home