Brewton-Parker College
50 reviews
  1. Mount Vernon, GA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Brewton-Parker College Home

Reviews

50 reviews
  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    16
  • Average
    19
  • Poor
    4
  • Terrible
    4
I love the atmosphere and the dorms .
  • College Student
  • 8 months ago
I play for the athletics , and it's very great.
  • College Student
  • 8 months ago
I love them dorms , and I love the social life.
  • College Student
  • 8 months ago
The professors for in-seat classes are helpful, generally, but the online professors take forever to get back to you and it seems like they don't care as much.
  • College Sophomore
  • 10 months ago
I don't even know how the career counseling goes, because I don't live on campus, but I think people who graduate from here can get jobs as well as anyone else without a fancy degree.
  • College Sophomore
  • 10 months ago
Though they work very slowly, it's still good
  • College Sophomore
  • 10 months ago
The school itself is poor and bankrupt.

The town is small and set apart from everything. They are no public transportation. The school does not supply transportation. So getting necessities is difficult.

The area doesn't have any activities, no hang out spot or anything. If you are caught going to an outside club, bar, house party they will kick you out.

The school is racist and discriminates against its minority students, but its common in south Georgia

There is no campus life.

The education quality is poor. You have teachers that are hired they're without degrees because they know people that work there. They are no rules and regulations. Teachers could do whatever they want, like not show up and break codes and its ok, because they are so scarce on staff. The work is really not challenging and of good quality. Most staff members are not qualified for their position.

Most students graduate within 5 or 6 years because limited course offerings.

The president, vice president , and academic dean is corrupt and have in the past falsify documents and blackmail students

They steal from the Federal government in their funds allocation, taking away money from federal funded work study programs to pay their employees.

Its not worth the money.

They have sports, but horrible unqualified coaches. Like a baseball coach coaching track and field and soccer.

The coaches are hired and fired about every year. They are always only one team that does good each season.

However, the few students they have are friendly. They have 3 - 4 qualified staff that cares about their student. The BCM ministry is really good in their efforts in promoting christ and fellowship.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • Sep 24 2015
My school has a great athletic department, and most students that attend are there on athletic scholarships. School spirit is great, it could be better, but no one really complains.
  • College Junior
  • July 9 2014
The professors I've had are nice, and it seems like most of them are. The administrators are nice but sometimes they don't have your stuff together. The class sizes are small, which makes me like them.
  • College Junior
  • July 9 2014
I really like the atmosphere, and the students are nice. The location is nice and quaint, but if you're looking for the big college-town feel then it's not for you. I love that athletics are a big focus, and our teams are really good.
  • College Junior
  • July 9 2014
The food is ok, there's not a lot to choose from and no late-night options.
  • College Junior
  • July 9 2014
The Greek Life is not huge at this school.
  • College Junior
  • July 9 2014
It's in a small town, so there is really nothing to do off-campus unless you feel like driving at least an hour.
  • College Junior
  • July 9 2014
You have to know the right people to find good parties; they are not very often but when they do happen they are pretty good. The parties take place in apartments and houses around town...I've never heard of one in the dorm areas. When the parties do happen, it is a positive impact on the student experience because you get to meet new people and socialize.
  • College Junior
  • July 9 2014
I don't eat on campus very often. I usually cook at home. When I decided to eat out the variety is average.
  • College Sophomore
  • Jan 12 2014
I have not had much contact with the "Greek" life. Most of the time I only hear bad things about them and how all they do is throw parties.
  • College Sophomore
  • Jan 12 2014
I am personally not very involved in sports on campus. I have heard only good things about them from other students who are involved.
  • College Sophomore
  • Jan 12 2014
Most students come for sports, some sports do better than others but, overall everyone is better each year. Workouts are intense and vary every time you go to team workouts. Most of the teams are well diverse in ethnicity but, also in nationality. Each team has a certain trainer they see. Most teams are like brother/sisterhoods, but we all come together to support each other and work together to strive for more.
  • College Sophomore
  • Aug 30 2013
The school is nothing special but, the teachers here will do almost anything to insure your success. They try their best to answer all questions you have about the course work. They treat you with the upmost respect, the teachers go out of their way to build a personal relationship with each and every student. Most will call you when you do not show up to class and will come and help you after business ours if that what it takes to get you to pass their class.
  • College Sophomore
  • Aug 30 2013
The food is normally alright, but sometimes there are really strange combinations, it really depends on the day.
  • College Sophomore
  • July 22 2013
  • 1 of 3
Back to Brewton-Parker College Home