Boston University
3,038 reviews
  1. Boston, MA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Boston University Home

Reviews

3,038 reviews
  • Excellent
    480
  • Very Good
    1149
  • Average
    1153
  • Poor
    167
  • Terrible
    89
Tuition is way too expensive and certain colleges definitely get more benefits/are favored (newer buildings, technology, etc), but overall I did have a good experience.
  • Senior
  • 15 days ago
BU is the best decision Ive ever made. I wish there was a football team and a larger campus with green fields, but its in the city so its understandable.
  • Freshman
  • 29 days ago
BU is a great school. It is extremely expensive, but with the Grant Assurance Program that just rolled out yesterday, it is going to become a lot more manageable. It is an extremely hard school too, especially in the sciences. We are graded according to how we do against other students, so each class is relative, but it also really pits students against each other. The location is amazing, you are right in Boston with the T running right in the middle of campus. And most professors are great, but you do get a couple of iffy ones every semester, which can really hurt your grade and feeling towards a course.
  • Sophomore
  • 1 month ago
i love everything about boston university ! its a fantastic school filled with interesting and exciting classes and people. If i could change one thing, i wish that the school helped make it easier to fund your education, with more scholarship opportunities and workshops on how to avoid crazy debt.
  • Sophomore
  • 1 month ago
BU is a great place to find yourself. I am from the west coast and have grown so much going to school in Boston. The history, the people, the seasons are all new to me and I love it...Go Terriers!
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
It's pretty overpriced and the classes I've taken so far are mostly just busy work. There's not much to do on campus if you're not interested in athletics and want something more laid-back to do, and the parties are always the same. There's nothing unique about them, just overcrowded basements with terrible speakers. The best advice I could give is DO NOT APPLY TO CGS. It's nothing but busy work, and the classes are way too broad. They try to cover too much with no real structure. Professors just ramble about disjointed topics for about an hour and that's class.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Overall, I am receiving a great education. The price is high but the quality is amazing as well. Dorms are marginal at best (at least freshman dorms). Food quality is amazing at dining halls and other on-campus food locations. Social scene is okay, small greek life, great hockey games.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
It is an extremely diverse school that offers a wide array of fields of studies. It is a bit overwhelming with the amount of options available, and I feel the staff can do more to keep you on the right path. However I'm excited to be a part of the community and to be a part of the Boston University Men's basketball team.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Course layout hard to change majors, courses are challenging but helpful. Teachers are helpful. Engineers are cared of well.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
I have to say that although there are some shortcomings when it comes to BU, I still love everything about the school. There are so many resources and opportunities available to us students, including freshman. Also, even though they have very difficult classes, I'm appreciative because it just goes to show that they want us to be prepared for our future careers. Last but not least, who wouldn't fall in love with the city of Boston? It's kind of impossible not to.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
If you are looking for a large, urban school in a great town, Boston University is for you. The campus is completely integrated with the city and surrounding areas without it being too congested. While the academics are challenging (and the grade deflation is an ongoing problem), the course load prepares you for the future.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
BU is a truly great school. The professors care about you and can become your personal mentors. The campus is integrated into the city of Boston which is amazing, and you can easily get around campus and Boston on the T. The pre-med curriculum is rigorous and challenges you to make sure that you want to continue into that field.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Boston University is a beautiful school, with very helpful staff, professors, and other students. The housing could use some updating, as it is an older school and requires some assistance and maintenance.
  • Niche User
  • 3 months ago
Great, positive environment with many professional opportunities. Relatively diverse in comparison to most private universities. Party scene is very much there (off campus; Allston parties being the worst avoid those) but after freshman year have chosen not to participate. If you choose not to there is much to do that isn't related to partying. Same thing with Greek Life--you do it or you don't, you won't be ostracized for either decision.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Boston University an excellent university. The campus is beautiful and lively. The location is perfect for finding fun things to do and finding good internships. The People and professors are great and always helpful. There are no bounds when It comes to what you can study and I have heard that the Study abroad program is amazing! Housing is unique because the brownstones are an option and very few colleges in the US have that as an option. On top of it all Student life is great and there are tons of clubs to join. Hockey games are just one of the sporting events to attend. It’s a great environment to make friends that will last a lifetime. Overall I would highly recommend people to look into Boston University! Go terriers!
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
BU boats some of the best academic programs in the country.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
There are so many people from diverse backgrounds, and you'll end up meeting a variety of different people.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
Administrators enforce drug safety, but it's still prevalent on campus. Honestly, if you're not involved in it, you won't hear much about it.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
I love most of my professors. The class sizes get smaller as you get older, so it does feel like you are one-on-one with your professors. Go to their office hours for more help and resources - it's really beneficial.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
BU has a great reputation in the jobs aspect. Most students are employed in some way or another after graduation.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 152
Back to Boston University Home