Biola University
2,014 reviews
  1. La Mirada, CA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Biola University Home

Reviews

2,014 reviews
  • Excellent
    562
  • Very Good
    838
  • Average
    510
  • Poor
    58
  • Terrible
    46
Biola is a great school for those looking to rigorously study the Bible as well as their intended field of study. Be ready to grow in your faith as well as your academics as you are challenged by caring faculty to expand your thinking. Expect chapel and Bible class requirements. People are typically kind however it can take some time to make deeper relationships.
  • Senior
  • 3 days ago
My favorite part of Biola University is the people that you come across, whether classmates, professors, or faculty/staff. Since I've started attending Biola, I've made at least three friends that I believe I will have for the rest of my life.
  • Senior
  • 7 days ago
I love everything about Biola because it provided me with so many resources to grow in ways I didn't even know I could.
  • Sophomore
  • 7 days ago
My favorite aspect of Biola University is the inclusive community. The students on campus are extremely welcoming, aiming to make you feel at home. The professors are personal. They desire to not only teach you, but to build a relationship with you. I love that students and professors are like minded in their faith, allowing a deeper connection that goes beyond the books. There are a variety of events that take place on campus, including concerts, Bible conferences, and club rushes. With over fifty clubs to offer, there is a spot for everyone to get involved.
  • Junior
  • 13 days ago
Biola is a Biblically sound, private Christian University. The people are extremely friendly and are usually God- fearing. Pretty much every professor is conservative and wants to get to know you on a personal level outside of the classroom. The campus environment is warm and welcoming, and it is very easy to make friends. Located in Southern California, Biola is close to many famous destinations like the beach, LA, and Disneyland! Dorm life is a major part of the campus community, but I am sure commuters are just as satisfied. I love Biola. The professors have taught me a lot about thinking Biblically about everything, the people are beautiful, the weather is great, and my friends are incredible. You should definitely check it out!
  • Junior
  • 13 days ago
I found that it was very hard to make friends. Most of the students there live within a two hour radius of the campus and majority would go home every weekend. There was nothing to do on campus. There were sports games but the games were never advertised and the university is not spirited at all. It's a very academic school instead of allowing opportunities for student life. There were a couple of those opportunities but not many. The professors were very personable and nice and the dorms are average.
  • Freshman
  • 14 days ago
I just finished my first semseter here at Biola, and I love it. I have made so many great friends and the school hosts many fun events for the students. The professors are great and genuinely care about their students and encourage their students to meet with them in office hours. The classes are challenging, but are beneficial. The campus itself is beautiful and there are so many different areas to spend with friends or to spend some time getting homework done. It's in a safe neighborhood and there is so much to do around the area since it is in LA. A bonus is that Disneyland is about 15 minutes away.
  • Freshman
  • 16 days ago
There are many things that I love about Biola University. It has been my first year at this university. For instance, the professors are wonderful. They expect a lot of effort from students, but they teach in an entertaining way which motivates students to do their best. Each of my colleagues are stressed from all the work given to them, but are motivated because each professor kindly answers questions during class sessions. Also, the campus at Biola University is beautiful. The campus is filled with fountains running water and the there are are many religious monuments. There is one thing that I think should be improved. The campus is peaceful during sunny days, but it is ugly during raining seasons. Since the campus is wide-open, it is impossible to stay dry. Although it is hard to cover the entire area, I think that some partitions should be put up in specific areas so students could relax and not worry about getting wet.
  • Freshman
  • 22 days ago
If you're a Christian, Biola is a great place. It's not strictly a Christian school, but Biola wants to mix the higher education with Christianity. A great environment.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
I am having an amazing time at Biola.
The people are friendly and great to be around in and out of class. The food is great and I love my quiet dorm. Biola was a great choice for me!
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
In more ways than I can count, I can confidently say that Biola University has changed my life. In my four years here I have learned about myself, my interests, my faith, my relationships and my career. At a place like Biola, I am continually challenged and encouraged to pursue my passions and this school has provided countless resources to do so. Between weekly chapels to encourage my faith, and passionate educators to develop my academics, I will be leaving this school as an equipped Christian to make an impact in the world of nursing.
  • Senior
  • 3 months ago
Super great school to grow and learn more about God. Student, staff, and faculty are extremely nice and will help you with anything you need.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Good experience, good academics and Christian Atmosphere. Excellent courses for the Apologetics degrees.
  • Graduate Student
  • 3 months ago
Biola has a great, community of students and faculty who want to glorify God. It does not have a very diverse population, but the effort to change this issue has been evident throughout my time here.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I love the people, dorm life and professors here! So far, I have taken Bible courses such as Theology, New testament and Spiritual Formation, where I've had the unique opportunity to integrate my faith with my academic learning. Also my favorite part of the year is Missions Conference, where thousands of people come to Biola's campus to learn about missions, different cultures and to meet missionaries from every end of the Earth. Biola has provided me with a college experience that has nurtured and cultivated me as a person - something that I value much more than partying every weekend, like other universities promote.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
So far, I have thoroughly enjoyed the majority of the professors that I have had. Sure there are some professors that I did not understand or could not really relate to their teaching methods, but for the most part, the professors have proved to be very interested in the students and prove to really care about the students success in their courses.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
There are always wonderful opportunities that my campus offers to students for jobs or internships. I always receive emails for events for job fairs on campus.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
My campus takes students safety and security very seriously. Campus security is constantly emailing the students when planning certain drill to enhance our safety and they are always around campus keeping the students safe. I am very thankful for the safety that I am given at my university.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
I currently do not live in campus, but I have been inside the dorm rooms and met with the students who live on campus and everyone is always friendly and helpful in the dorm community.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
I always enjoy attending sports games and matches to support my school and cheer on my colleagues. The athletes at my school are hard working and driven to do their very best and to always give glory to God in every match or game they play whether they win or lose.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 101
Back to Biola University Home