Binghamton University, SUNY
2,084 reviews
  1. Vestal, NY
  2. 4 Year
Back to Binghamton University, SUNY Home

Reviews

2,084 reviews
  • Excellent
    281
  • Very Good
    763
  • Average
    855
  • Poor
    123
  • Terrible
    62
Binghamton University is a unique experience in many ways. There is a lot of room to succeed and they provide you with many of the tools necessary for numerous opportunities. Still if I had to see something change it would be the staff. Some of the professors are very motivated and amazing at what they do, but on the other hand a huge majority of professors while brilliant do not help their students thrive. You'll find yourself learning most of the material on your own, which would be fine if we didn't have a greater hope for Binghamton's education system being that the school prides itself on being the "public ivy" I think that since we expect so much from the students we can start expecting more from the staff as well.
  • Sophomore
  • 6 days ago
Overall, I enjoy the general atmosphere of the college. If you are a party person you'll definitely like it, and if you are a homebody like me, there's a lot of fun stuff to do without going out. You might even meet your next squad at nowl or LateNite.
  • Sophomore
  • 7 days ago
I'm a freshman & I'm part of the Binghamton Advantage Program which allows me to live on Bing's campus & take advantage of the resources the campus has to offer while I take my classes at SUNY Broome Community College for 1 year. The campus is beautiful & has much to offer. Bing provides buses that take us everywhere. We have access to a lot of stores nearby such as Target, Best Buy, Walmart, TJ Maxx, Dick's, AMC, & so many more in the mall close by. We have a lot of options on campus for food: 4 dining halls, the marketplace Starbucks, and Subway. We also have late night which means two dining halls are open from 9PM-1AM on Mon-Thurs. & 9PM-4AM on Fri-Sun. To my surprise the frat parties are always crowded and bumping on weekends. If you don't like frats the bars are always an option as well. The people at Bing are so friendly & approachable. Once you find your group of friends at Bing, everything is great.
  • Freshman
  • 10 days ago
All of your classes are relatively close to each other (~5min walk to get from class to class). The dorms are nice and are relatively new or being renovated.
  • Sophomore
  • 10 days ago
Binghamton University is a school with strong academics, and a nice campus. The university is a great place to find your academic and extracurricular interests. The intro classes can be very difficult, but these courses just test your ability to study. The professors can sometimes be difficult to understand, but there are tutors readily available at the tutor center. Overall, the students at Binghamton have a passion for what they study and in turn this creates an atmosphere that encourages creative thinking and collaborative learning. Go bearcats!
  • Sophomore
  • 15 days ago
Binghamton University is a premier university. It's reputation as a "public ivy" is quite fair. I enjoy the classes, the people, and the diversity. Like any school, Binghamton has it's share of problems, but the students who attend care enough about the issues to address them.
  • Sophomore
  • 17 days ago
I've spent a semester already at Binghamton and I'm really glad I chose to go here. The atmosphere is pretty great and when you're not in class, there's plenty to do on-campus even if the local area isn't really something spectacular. One of my favorite things is the amount of support services they offer, whether it be concerning academic advising or career counseling! That's in my opinion, one of the most important things that will help you in your college career!
In short:

Pros:
- Academics (There's a reason it's called a "Public Ivy"
- Student Life (There's so much here to keep you busy)
- Career Services (The Fleishman Center is amazing)

Cons
- Food (Sodexo has got to go)
- Local Area (Better to stay on-campus)
- On-campus housing (Way too expensive)
- Winter (When Winter comes, it does so in full force)
  • Freshman
  • 17 days ago
The staff and professors truly care about the students there and strive to push them to do their best. They truly set you up for success through the many outlets that they offer the students for a better future.
  • Junior
  • 18 days ago
I would like to see changes in the parking because the parking is horrible. It's nice if you live on campus, but if you are a commuter it is very hard to find parking spots. And the downtown campus is worse. Over all the university is not a bad school. You do have to keep up on your degree works and make sure courses transfer over like they should.
  • Senior
  • 21 days ago
Binghamton Univeristy has a wide variety of majors with prestigious programs, so there is no need to apply to other schools should you decide to pursue another focus.
  • Junior
  • 22 days ago
I am satisfied on how it is an inspiring environment. It allows you to focus on your studies. However, I am not satisfied with the amount of professor adjuncts there are. I don't feel like I am receiving the best quality education I could with the inexperienced soon-to-be professors. It has hindered me in some of my classes and reflected off my grade which isn't beneficial for my future. I am also a transfer, so I don't feel so matriculated within the student life at the University. I feel a bit at a disadvantage. However, this University has nothing but been good for me and my future. I only wish for more opportunities with my college, CCPA at Binghamton Universty.
  • Junior
  • 1 month ago
Binghamton is amazing. Best choice I've made in my life. Full of crazy smart, super motivated, yet fun and loving people.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
True to its reputation, Binghamton University is definitely one of the elite SUNY schools in the state. Looking back on the four years I spent there as an undergraduate student, the standards and expectations of the school do rise towards a higher ceiling than those of city schools. Because there are very few distractions around the area, I would also say the university serves as an enriching environment for studious types who can relinquish dreams of a party life. The faculty I encountered in the schools science department, specifically the biology department, were brilliant, considerate, and helpful. However, I must admit that the campus's gloomy skies and relentless rain began to feel draining after the first year...
  • Alum
  • 1 month ago
Attending Binghamton University has been a wonderful and rewarding experience so far. Administration and faculty have been excellent. Campus and dorm life are second to none. If I could improve on any at this point, it would be the food selection. Although the campus food is great, I feel it could be better as far as quality and variety. The market place in the union gets expensive if you want to change up your daily routine. Otherwise I love Binghamton University.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
There are a lot of interesting course to take at Binghamton University such as song writing, cinema, and theater. You can always walk around campus at three in the morning and you will be safe. Campus cops are always there when you need them. There are many clubs ran by students in the university and it has include a lot of diversity into it. For example, Asians have the Asian Student Union etc. You don't really need a car but having a car is encouraged. Everywhere you go requires a car but there are bus available that takes you to the same places.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Binghamton University has diverse programs with 6 schools. It has good course on arts as well as in Engineering. Few departments need improvement on the student:faculty ratio.
  • Graduate Student
  • 2 months ago
Academics are at a high level here. As a public University, Binghamton is fighting to compete with ivy-league schools and other top state Universities. Through doing this, I think some of the classes and course work my be more challenging than at ivy-league schools and other supposedly elite schools (they say second place always tries harder). I enjoy Binghamton because of this competitive energy and the great people here. On a side note, there are a lot of Long Islanders (sometimes quite annoying) here and a lot of International students. Diversity is pretty healthy. I wish there were a few more out-of-state and upstate students. Overall I like it here.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
A medium to large generic public institution. A far cry from any Ivy or a elite university. Overcrowded, under funded, lacking resources and stuffing more and more students in and shuffling them through as quickly as possible without caring about the experience students have. You know the stereotype of the large public school where you are a number. Welcome to Binghamton! It is cheap. That is the payoff. It has fallen below the other 4 university centers and Geneseo. But it is probably cheaper. The advantage program is an incredible addition. Pay the cost of a university while getting to attend a community college. How is that ok?
  • Niche User
  • 3 months ago
I applied to 24 very challenging and rigorous schools, and I did get accepted to many of them, but money was a very big deciding factor, as I did not want to spend 50k+ a year on my undergraduate degree. Initially I was disappointed to have worked so hard to attend Binghamton, but after being here, I am so proud to attend this school. The school work is challenging and the school community is very friendly.
  • Freshman
  • 4 months ago
The campus is beautiful and have a friendly vibe to it. There is really not a lot to do off campus. There are various clubs/organizations to join. The academic side of Bing is great.
  • Freshman
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 105
Back to Binghamton University, SUNY Home