Bethany Lutheran College
195 reviews
  1. Mankato, MN
  2. 4 Year
Back to Bethany Lutheran College Home

Reviews

195 reviews
  • Excellent
    37
  • Very Good
    73
  • Average
    63
  • Poor
    16
  • Terrible
    6
Bethany Lutheran College has given me a different outlook on life and how I am able to change the world from using my heart and mind in everything I do. This university helps people become not only classmates but friends. It's small and a very friendly environment for no matter who comes here.
  • Sophomore
  • 14 days ago
This place is one of those small, unsuspecting, rare gems in a big city. There are so many things being done right at Bethany. The atmosphere is refreshing because you feel warm and welcome no matter your background. I have not met a single professor who is not passionate about his or her practice. Because of the people and the atmosphere I am continually inspired to be a better human and push myself to explore the gifts and talents I was blessed with.
  • Sophomore
  • 17 days ago
Within my first semester here at Bethany, I have learned so much about music (my major) and about myself. The professors here are always very helpful. The dormitories are very nice and the people around campus are always so kind.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Small college, cozy, comfortable, connected. Busy college town, nice food, nightlife, neat places.The professors are helpful and engaging and actually want you to succeed. Class sizes are small which adds to the quality of education. Cafeteria food is okay, but not great. The campus is quite small so it's easy to get from building to building, and you'll become familiar with nearly every face you meet. If you're looking for a college where everyone's pleasant and generally minds their own business, and has sports and study places and little clubs for everyone, this is it. The campus looks welcoming and feels safe. There are always several nighttime security on duty, and a quick phone call will get you a ride to your car or dorm any time.I attended as a post secondary high school student, and was accepted and fit quite comfortably in among the students, easy pace and class sizes. I likely will be attending Bethany for my college career and recommend it.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
The housing is pretty good with spacious rooms. My only complaint is that the girls dorms (and Tiegen Hall) are not air conditioned and get very hot during the early fall semester and late spring. The atmosphere is generally good and the RAs are great people, both for the guys and girls.
  • College Senior
  • 7 months ago
Athletics are very important to many students who attend Bethany. Even though there are no athletic scholarships granted, hundreds of students participate in sports and intramural sports across campus. All sports are publicized on campus and many people attend events to support the competing teams. The athletic trainers are fantastic and are extremely important for the athletes on campus to have access to.
  • College Senior
  • 7 months ago
Bethany Lutheran College provides a fantastic learning environment that is accommodating to current students and prospective students. The atmosphere of the college is positive and inviting. The students, faculty, and staff are friendly and are always helpful. I am fortunate to be able to attend Bethany, as it was my first choice college, and have made so many memories on the cross country and track teams and also in the classroom. I would definitely choose to attend Bethany if I had to choose to attend college again.
  • College Senior
  • 7 months ago
The thing to know about Bethany is that it's a very conservative Lutheran college. While most students are Lutheran, the rest of the students are mainly other Christian denominations. It would be very hard to be a non-Christian at Bethany.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
Bethany is a dry campus, so it's not very visible, but there are people who sneak it in.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
Aside from the people who drink and do drugs, everyone on campus is kind and respectful.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
RAs were great in Gully! However, my hall always smelled like marijuana, thanks to some basketball guys living there, and nothing was done about it ever.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
I participated in two varsity level sports as a freshman. It was fun to be able to do that, since it's such a small school. However, most of the people involved in sports at Bethany are not very kind or moral people.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
It's truly a great school. They have some good morals, but not everyone in the school has those. I've been reading the reviews on here about nobody doing drugs - that's a lie. Not only do we have drug users on campus, but a member of the class of 2018 sells drugs to people in the underclassmen dorms.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
The school itself has no "party scene," that's nearby MSU. There are a few bars in Mankato.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
Again, it's not a party school. People have gatherings, but MSU has the actual parties.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
Academics are good. Curriculums are good, professors are helpful and very knowledgeable about their field.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
There's quite a bit of diversity in economic background, and some racial/ethnic diversity. Practically everyone here is Christian and conservative, so no diversity there.

The school has a Title IX exemption for religious reasons, so if you're LGBT, don't come here. If the school finds out you're LGBT, they force you to go through "religious counseling." If you refuse, I think they could kick you out of the school.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
No one here does drugs, and very, very few people drink.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
We leave our backpacks in this hallway by the Caf, and no one's stuff has been taken.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
The class sizes are small, largest class I've had had 30 people. Professors are very knowledgeable.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
  • 1 of 10
Back to Bethany Lutheran College Home