Barnard College
394 reviews
  1. New York, NY
  2. 4 Year
Back to Barnard College Home

Reviews

394 reviews
  • Excellent
    93
  • Very Good
    162
  • Average
    111
  • Poor
    19
  • Terrible
    9
Barnard is an amazing place for young women to learn and grow within a diverse and empowered community of other women. The resources available are endless since Barnard is a part of Columbia University--a huge research university.
  • Freshman
  • 9 days ago
I feel strongly about Barnard. It is a wonderful place to be. I love my classmates and professors. My experiences with the administration have been generally poor. My time here has been rewarding, surprising, and engaging.
  • Senior
  • 18 days ago
Barnard has been incredible. It is hard core. The students are ambitious and extremely intelligent, but competitiveness is not a problem. It can get very stressful, as many of our classes are considered much harder than those at columbia, but the support system within the school, and the community really do help. Everyone has got each other's back. It's a small campus, but having all of Columbia and NYC is so worth it.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
Great school with good class options. Lucky to have a relationship with Columbia University across the street and learning opportunities available throughout New York City. Administration could be more receptive to students. Peers are intelligent and passionate. Great learning environment.
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
Nothing to do if you don't want to go to bars.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
It's any Ivy. People care about academics.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Most drug/alcohol use is off campus. Everyone has a fake ID.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Lots of pride in school.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
This school is very pretentious and competitive. It is an Ivy League. People are insecure and try very hard to seem smart. It is a very isolating situation.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Lots of security around at all times.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
The old dorms are very dirty and there is no AC which is rough for the first month.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
The student body is strangely competitive and obsessed with the idea of the "Ivy League." There is also a weird dynamic between Barnard and Columbia. People are very aware of their own intelligence and like to show it off. The facilities are in bad shape. Save your money, it will go a lot further elsewhere.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I've had some professors I didn't like, but for the most part my academic experience at Barnard has been incredible and rewarding. I tend to like my Barnard professors more than my Columbia ones, usually because class sizes tend to be smaller and more student focused a Barnard. I've had great experiences on both sides of the street though!
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
Networking at Barnard/Columbia is never ending. Plus, being in New York, students have access to so many opportunities that others do not. Barnard is well known by many Manhattan institutions, especially banks and investment firms like Goldman Sachs and HSBC and publications like the New York Times, Cosmopolitan, and Seventeen Magazine. Barnard has a very tight alumni network and alums are constantly supporting younger women.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
Security is everywhere on Barnard/Columbia's campus. Signing visitors in to dorms can be a major hassle because dorm security is very strict in New York. Morningside Heights is generally a very safe neighborhood, but don't be surprised when you get a mugging alert every once and a while. Also, be careful crossing Broadway.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
In New York, space is tight. It's a mixed bag at Barnard, you can get amazing housing or horrible housing but the lottery decides. The housing lottery is akin to the Hunger Games and causes a lot of stress for everyone. That said, I'm not sure there is any better way to do it.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
As part of Greek life, I am biased. Nevertheless, I have found that social life at Columbia revolves around Greek Life more than some people might admit, but still not to a large extent. Personally, Greek Life has given me a home and a structure that I was missing my first semester of college. The camaraderie is so nice to have, and the internships and connections passed between members are invaluable.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
Athletics are usually the butt of jokes at Columbia. Barnard students who participate in Varsity Athletics play for Columbia. Columbia does have some great athletes and teams, surely, but students do not attend Barnard and Columbia for the sports.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
Barnard is not your typical college. Given its location in Manhattan and its close relationship with Columbia University, the College does not fit the script of the 'small liberal arts school.' While Barnard could be considered small (c. 2500 students), it actually feels as large as the entire Columbia community; that is to say, huge. The academics are rigorous and the social life is sink or swim. Once you get used to it all, however, the possibilities are limitless. Once at Barnard, most students couldn't imagine going to college anywhere other than NYC, and appreciate with a new perspective how inspiring a group of ambitious women can be.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
A Barnard Degree is also a Columbia Degree
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
  • 1 of 20
Back to Barnard College Home