Austin Peay State University
1,150 reviews
  1. Clarksville, TN
  2. 4 Year
Back to Austin Peay State University Home

Reviews

1,150 reviews
  • Excellent
    173
  • Very Good
    408
  • Average
    448
  • Poor
    85
  • Terrible
    36
My experience at Austin Peay state University had it ups and downs. When I first started this school I was a transfer, and some of my credits didn't transfer. It was stressful starting over especially after I found out they didn't offer my major/degree. What I like about Austin Peay is after my first year there they showed me that they was there to help me through my years as an undergrad. Austin Peay kept me motivated to finish with a degree, and gave me hope to become a better person. I never thought I would ever came this far in school. It's a shocker for it to be my last semester. One thing I would change about Austin Peay is having more classes at night, so it will be more convenient for people with later jobs instead of taking online classes.
  • Senior
  • 6 days ago
I liked the fact that it is a smaller campus so it gives you a great chance to make new friends. Classes aren't too hard to walk to, however, some teachers are so horrible, they have known nicknamesome about how horrible they are, and they always prove to be true, yet, these teachers do not get fired.
  • Freshman
  • 13 days ago
The academic staff are wonderful and encourages open discussion on just about any topic. They are more than willing to work with students who have unique situations. One thing I would like to see changed is permanent staff in the Veterans Affairs Dept. There is no continuity because a majority of staff are part of the Work Force Study and it's hard to get a straight answer about using Veterans Benefits.
  • Junior
  • 20 days ago
It has been a very exciting and notable experience. I am eager to continue my education at this establishment. The atmosphere is welcoming, and the professors and my peers are charming and helpful.
  • Freshman
  • 23 days ago
I love my school but when they lowered the tuition for students within a 250 mile radius, they lowered my scholarship; which I feel they shouldn't have been able to do. I warned that scholarship prior to the new 250r tuition. I signed a paper for a 4-year scholarship! So this year has been extra difficult trying to pay for school.
  • Sophomore
  • 25 days ago
I like how open the university is , you can be yourself without anyone judging you , and the professors work with you if you fall behind in class, they give you opportunities to get back on track , and the school has many resources to help you be successful in college
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
In the short time I have been at Austin Peay State University, can truly say I have been blown away by the amount if clubs revolving around volunteering, the amount of diversity, and the amount of care the professor show for each of their students.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
As a partial, dual enrollment student for high school, I do have to say that this school was a lot better than I was expecting. It's a lot safer to be on at night and when it starts getting colder. All the staff and professors are inviting. The library is also amazing.
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
What I like about Austin Peay State University is that it feels like home to me. It's a small, diverse campus and community. I like how some of the classes are not to big because it gives you more of an interaction with your professors. I like how there is always something to do on campus. Overall, Austin Peay State University is a great campus.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Good teachers, good food, but unsafe location. Within my second semester a female student was assaulted by the library and a shooting took place on campus.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I love APSU. To be honest I didn't even see the campus before orientation. my friend wanted me to apply and I got in. In the time that I have been at APSU I have join the Alpha Sigma Alpha Sorority and I have made so many friends. Just being able to go to a school that has an organization like them makes me love being here. I wouldn't change anything about them.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I went to Austin Peay State University for a school tour and everyone there was very welcoming and nice. The campus was beautiful. My tour guide actually got to know me and asked me what I was planning on majoring in. It was just a good experience all around.
  • Niche User
  • 3 months ago
I love Austin Peay! It's a great transition from a small town to a small college. I just wish there were more food options on campus.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I love Austin Peay State University campus and professors. Austin Peay State University has a very diverse campus. The football team is okay they just need more practice.The school academics are great. I have learned so much since I have been here. I am a freshman at Austin Peay still learning my way around campus. The students on campus are very friendly and the professors are very understanding.
  • Freshman
  • 4 months ago
There are plenty of parties near campus, but not many on campus. These are usually hosted by either a regular student, Greek organization, or alumni of the campus. These parties have helped many people let loose during their college life, as well as make life long friendships. Some parties are created for specific cause-such as breast cancer awareness or the LGBTQ community. All the parties I have visited were very upbeat and fun, and never ended badly.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
There are not many parties on campus, but there is at least one party a night nearby campus which is hosted by an Austin Peay student. There are also many hangout places, such as the bowling alley (usually during cosmic bowling) and the mall/movie theatre. There are many various ways to get transportation around Austin Peay. The Peay Pickup is a trolley which drives around campus and picks up students and drops them off at their desired on-campus location. Users, of course, are available any time of the day. Many students are willing to carpool to places, including the university itself.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Academics in general is wonderful at Austin Peay State University. The registration process is very quick and easy, and someone is always there to help you along the way. The workload is not overwhelming (unless you take an overload of classes and are unprepared), and can easily finish your work as long as you stay organized and stick to your planner. If you ever need help, you can ask a teacher, or schedule a study session with a group of people. There are also free tutoring services available. If you just wish to study alone, the library is great for that. The upstairs is a very quiet and comfortable area and provides personal desks to help you focus. The lobby is where many people come to chat (as well as get the occasional Starbucks beverage or snack) and use the computers provided to do work and print off papers. The basement is also a very quiet place to study, but does not provide personal desks as the upstairs does. There are also writing workshops, where you can get others to read over your papers to check for any mistakes, including plagiarism, to help improve your writing skills for classes.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
There is a very diverse population attending Austin Peay State University, mostly due to race and sexual orientation. The LGBTQ community is widely accepted by everyone who comes to Austin Peay. No discrimination has been noticed, and everyone treats them exactly as they should-like any other person pursuing an education. There are many different races, and no conflicts have occurred due to race either. Religion has never been a major issue, as most students are accepting and non-judgmental of one another. I have never seen any conflicts with the diversity of the population, but I have seen many of these diversities join together when there have been negative religious protests from visitors who believe things such as the LGBTQ community being sinful, people who are not a certain religion are going to hell, etc.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I have not seen any drugs on campus so far, but I have heard some people speaking about doing drugs after they get out of class. There have also been many parties thrown by a few students I know which involved alcohol and drugs, but it was off campus and few were underage drinking. I have never been pressured by my peers to go to any of these parties or partake in drinking, and I have never seen anything illegal occur on campus since I have started attending Austin Peay State University.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I have had no issues with any of my classes or professors so far. All of my professors are concerned about our progress, and want us to be able to come to them if we have any questions or concerns. Some of my professors are even considered confidants because they are not only wanting to help your learning experience, but they also want to be sure everything is going well in your personal life as well. This is because professors who truly care about their students wish that they take the knowledge they are given in life and college, and make something of it.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 58
Back to Austin Peay State University Home