Augustana College - Illinois
633 reviews
  1. Rock Island, IL
  2. 4 Year
Back to Augustana College - Illinois Home

Reviews

633 reviews
  • Excellent
    99
  • Very Good
    280
  • Average
    207
  • Poor
    35
  • Terrible
    12
I love Augustana so much. I feel incredibly safe and at home at school, and I love the faculty and staff. Augustana has a great party scene but is also very focused on academics.
  • Freshman
  • 20 days ago
I found Augustana to be a shock as far as rigorousness is concerned for my first two years then relatively easy and fulfilling once major and minors were established. The professors range from involved and caring about each student to being unyielding and judgmental based upon their perceptions based on demographics and first impressions. Social life was acceptable but not overwhelming and the surrounding area is economically depressed leaving limited opportunities. My degree has little vocational value and the tuition was outrageous and has to this day continued to go up. The internet went from painfully slow to mediocre and housing has similarly progressed. I think the CORE and EDGE centers and academic facility investments have personally been too little too late though will benefit future students.
  • Alum
  • 24 days ago
It is a good school with some great professors. There are some issues among students and many are ignorant to the idea of diversity. Maybe the school can work on this in the upcoming years.
  • Junior
  • 1 month ago
Augustana is an amazing school with some simply wonderful professors. The ratio of faculty to students is 11:1, which is very impressive. All of the faculty want to see their student succeed and do everything in their power to help and challenge them. Something that I would like to see changed is the schools housing options. I have friends that are Juniors who are studied abroad this past fall term, and do not have an appropriate place to live, or with the people that they would like to live with. These Juniors are living in dorms, when they should be in apartments.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
I have only been here for one trimester, as a transfer student, but I love Augustana. It is exactly the kind of school I was looking for. I was never completely sure whether i would want to attend a big school or a small school, but I'm glad I went with a smaller school. Everyone is so friendly and you run into the same people all the time, which makes it easier to make friends. Augustana's student population is the same amount of students that attend my high school, about 2500 people. I do wish, however, that there was a marching band at Augustana.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
Other than getting bored with the food after 9 weeks, and the obnoxious fire alarms. I love Augustana.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Augustana College was a very beautiful college. If there was anything I could change, I would've loved to see the dorms. The most captivating part of our tour was that we got to experience the C.O.R.E project. C.O.R.E helps students in the areas they struggle most in- writing, speaking, presenting. The program gets students ready for the real world. They have tutors to help in the areas of weakness.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
College so far has been a great balance of a challenging but doable academic life and also a lively social life once a group of friends has been found.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Marijuana can be smelled often in dorms to be honest. As for alcohol, it is widely used and many are into drinking even on weekdays. The good part is that there is barely any peer pressure to drink or do drugs. In fact, you are respected if you don't do those things. Policy enforcement is poor because it is so easy as an underaged student to access drugs and alcohol.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
As a new member of a sorority at Augustana, I would say that Greek Life here is pretty big. By big I mean that if you are the kind of person who wants to go to parties, always have something social to do, and be considered "popular," then I suggest that you join Greek Life. That being said, non-Greeks are not made fun of or thought less for not joining a sorority or a fraternity, but being such a small school, if you are not in Greek Life and have not joined any other group, you might feel isolated and not fully included if you are into the party scene. There is definitely a ranking among the sororities and fraternities even though the Greek groups mostly get along. I must say however that there is a definite ranking as to who are the "popular" groups and which groups are the "rejects." There are pretty large stereotypes that will follow you depending on which sorority or fraternity you join among Greeks as well as non-Greeks. In a nutshell, Greek Life is a huge deal if you are into the party scene. If you are the type of person who does not like to party and would rather stay in and watch Netflix every night (nothing wrong with that!:)) then Greek Life is nothing to worry about. However, I would like to mention that there is prestige in being in Greek Life so if you are into prestige and the whole "being popular" scene, join.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Augie provides many opportunities for internships for students. They are very helpful if you seek help.
  • College Senior
  • 7 months ago
Most of my teachers care about me and my understanding of the concepts. The classes are all very small, so the teachers are much more intimate with the students.
  • College Senior
  • 7 months ago
There haven't been many problems with safety issues for students.
  • College Senior
  • 7 months ago
My freshman year housing was not ideal, the dorms are old and a bit unkept, but no serious problems. My junior year apartment was very nice.
  • College Senior
  • 7 months ago
Although the social Greek groups aren't national, they are still very much worth joining. I am in a fraternity and the comradery built by the members creates a very positive way to make friends. All Greek groups get along well with one another so we often have social and charitable events with other groups.
  • College Senior
  • 7 months ago
Sports events are not very popular for the student body. Because we are a D3 school, students don't take much interest in the sporting events. However, intramurals are very popular. Many students get involved with them even if they aren't the greatest athletes.
  • College Senior
  • 7 months ago
I just finished my third year at Augie and I couldn't be happier with how my education has gone. Augie has offered many opportunities to me that I never thought I would be able to be a part of in college.
  • College Senior
  • 7 months ago
Most professors are great and are very knowledgeable in their field. However some professors give grades based on only a few tests or projects and that ends up being your grade for the term, even if there were other factors that should have been considered. Many classes are graded fairly, though. I also like that the average class size is pretty small, averaging about 25 to a class which makes interacting with professors a lot easier compared to lecture hall sized classes.
  • College Sophomore
  • 8 months ago
I have heard that when people hear about someone who went to Augustana, they have a very positive response to it. Augustana also has many internship opportunities that our career center offers to students.
  • College Sophomore
  • 8 months ago
People are very aware that sexual assault is a serious issue, although not a very common issue on campus. However, there are no real facilities available where someone could go if they were assaulted, such as a counselor who is specifically trained in dealing with sexual assault. They could talk about the issue to a roommate or professor, but they are not specifically trained in dealing with these issues. This is why a proposal was made to open a sexual health center on campus, although we do not know if it went through or not.
  • College Sophomore
  • 8 months ago
  • 1 of 32
Back to Augustana College - Illinois Home