Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College
247 reviews
  1. Asheville, NC
  2. 2 Year
Back to Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College Home

Reviews

247 reviews
  • Excellent
    67
  • Very Good
    94
  • Average
    74
  • Poor
    9
  • Terrible
    3
The campus is nice and well-protected. The academics are about average for a community college. Location is central to the area it serves.
  • Niche User
  • 1 month ago
the student body is primarily composed of gossipy teenagers, drug addicts, and people that aren't interested in making friends. The facility itself - Dodgy, always under construction, slow internet , and an administration that couldn't care less about your concerns. The classes themselves, ok. My biggest complaint is that the majority of course work is online. The teachers that I've had are fairly decent. The real issue is that even when the teachers are good, they have to uphold policies that lower the quality of the course. This isn't much of a place to learn, people in the communal rooms don't stop talking for a single moment, it's very hard to concentrate even in buildings that are for specific majors. The one exception that I've found is the library. If you're looking to get anything done on this campus, the library is your best friend. If that's the case, you should probably consider another college.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
It took me forever to sign up for classes because I had to jump through so many hoops to get all my credits that were transferable to this school. There is not really a clear cut direction to take when trying to enroll with transfer credits. Also, there did not seem to be great communication among the staff.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
The classes are engaging. Out of the five professors I have so far I would say three are amazing, one is decent, and only one gets under my skin and does not do a very good job. There is a wide and diverse range of classes available to students, even those who are not enrolled in specific programs; take Ti Chi for example. Class sizes are relatively small as well.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
There are many programs at this school that are very specific to certain career paths that I hear aid very much in helping a student require the skills to get a job. There is a career center that aids with that as well. However, I am not in one of the specified programs nor have I been to the career center yet.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
The program I am seeking is not offered at a 2-year college. However, AB Tech seems to have a wonderful transfer program that can be molded around the students needs to advance to the 4-year school of their choice.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
Just as any college, the professors can truly make or break the overall experience. Take my history teacher for example, she was an archaeologist, has multiple degrees, and when I'm in her class my foot taps repeatedly out of excitement and I retain everything she says. I never liked history before this. Now, take my statistics teacher, he wastes the entire class rambling on about nonsense that has to applicable use in or out of class. I always liked math before his class. Besides that I haven't spent enough time at this school to delve into any other aspects. So far I would go ahead and say I would probably choose this school again. It's a good stepping stone and the teachers I have that do care truly make a difference. They are what makes this place, AB Tech, unique.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
It's really easy to get conveniently timed classes.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
I like them for a lot of reasons. With online classrooms you can sit in pajamas, sip tea, enjoy silence, and do your work without any worries.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
My professors are the best. They are really passionate about their jobs.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
Degrees are highly valued here and everyone has such great dreams and goals for their future!
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
I'm still not sure what I want to do, but I'm interested in the sciences! I was in the associates in science but it was changed to a pre nursing thing. I'm probably going to go into a pharmacy tech career, though!
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
I like how open the campus is. The place isn't crammed together and it's beautiful. The people are great, too. Teachers are respectful, patient, and trustworthy when it comes to your education!
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
Its pretty flexible. Transferring credits was also explained thoroughly
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
Instructors very unprofessional poorly organized
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
You come here to transfer to a 4 year institution
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
Some of the classes could have more times as it seems the ones I need are always at one time.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
I personally prefer traditional classroom settings for my personality.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
They have numerous resources to help new graduates.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
I can not complain at all about this school or any of my professors so far!
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
  • 1 of 13
Back to Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College Home