Appalachian State University
2,218 reviews
  1. Boone, NC
  2. 4 Year
Back to Appalachian State University Home

Reviews

2,218 reviews
  • Excellent
    391
  • Very Good
    852
  • Average
    795
  • Poor
    127
  • Terrible
    53
Appalachian State is in the best location and I love being able to go explore all that Boone and the surrounding nature have to offer. For extra credit I get the opportunity to go on hikes and explore waterfalls. I have made some of the best friends at school and have had the opportunity to work with a lot of people professionally in the athletic training program. All my teachers are wonderful and push us to be our best. The school offers a lot of clubs and things to do, as well as a lot of great services like the 24/5 library hours, rental books and free health services. App State is great and I love it.
  • Junior
  • 1 day ago
I love Appalachian State for the challenging coursework and amazing faculty, not to mention the amazing nature that surrounds the school. I've had great classes, and the professors are all very approachable and want us to succeed. I feel like I'm not just another number on a page at Appalachian. Also the resources that they offer students really encourage us to own our education and expand our minds through studying abroad. There’s also great student life, from campus to local Boone spots to hang out in.

The only I would change about Appalachian is the General Education program. I believe it could be more streamlined and less intimidating to freshman. There should also be a wider variety of faculty who teach these classes.
  • Sophomore
  • 10 days ago
The views are amazing in Boone. It is the perfect college if you come from a small town and want a small town feel. If you enjoy doing activities outside you will never be bored.
  • Junior
  • 11 days ago
I chose to attend Appalachian State University because I saw opportunity there regarding academics, life after graduation, and evolving as a person. Now that I have attended the university for three years I have grown to look forward to my classes every semester because they always bring new challenges and lessons that I know will impact my life as a future professional. I also value that there are many resources available to me whether it is looking for jobs, speaking to advisors, or taking professional head shots. The only thing that has been negative about my experience here are the attacks on marginalized groups of people by privileged students. For example, there have been slurs and comments made toward minority students regarding our qualification to attend a university such as ASU.
  • Junior
  • 12 days ago
I had the opportunity to attend many other schools that my peers consider more prestigious. However choosing Appalachian State was the best decision I have ever made. This beautiful inclusive yet expanding university has taught me so much in academic and life skills. Here I'm getting top notch education and college experience for less that many other "prestigious" universities where you pay more for a title but are deprived by being a number not a actual face.
  • Junior
  • 16 days ago
I have not yet attended Appalachian State University, however I am very excited to apply as their campus is phenomenal. During my tour, I fell in love with the faculty and amount of independence given. I also loved the diversity of the people who attend the college. The majors offered are very interesting and I would love to study there. I am very excited to potentially attend. The guidance to succeed as a student and individual is always offered.
  • Niche User
  • 19 days ago
Diversity needs to be expanded though I feel very included here. I love the scenery and the personal connection with faculty and students.
  • Freshman
  • 21 days ago
My time spent at ASU was overwhelmingly positive. I loved spending time on the beautiful campus as fall set in drinking some delicious coffee brewed on campus by a local coffee shop. The surrounding town is always bustling and the bar scene, although not as busy as a large city, is always full of college kids looking for fun. I would have loved to rate Appstate with 5 stars because I really loved almost every moment spent there. but there's one way in which the school really failed me. Advising. First of all, let me explain that the professors in your major are randomly assigned to students at ASU. Unfortunately mine did not seem to want to help me at all. They gave me no valuable advice my whole 4 years. I blindly had to choose classes, took credits that were not even necessary. This feeling was shared through almost every student I talked to. To make a university great there needs to be a bigger emphasis placed on making students feel cared about by their professors.
  • Alum
  • 23 days ago
I love everything about this university it gets me moving and looking for great opportunities out there not just as a student, but also a man who is looking for learning abilities. This has been a great first impression on this university to step in and say "we can help how may we help you".
  • Freshman
  • 24 days ago
I love the environment at Appalachian and the beautiful mountain scenery. Being able to see every sunrise and sunset on the mountains made my early morning classes worth it. I like being able to get a mild workout just from walking to class uphill both ways. The weather is pretty unpredictable, but the snow days are a ton of fun. The professors are great and very helpful, but some of the buildings are pretty old and run-down. Overall, I think that Appalachian is a great college that welcomes everyone.
  • Sophomore
  • 1 month ago
My overall experience has been great. The professors are amazing, and always more than willing to help out.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
The community is a very strong part of what makes Appalachian State a welcoming school. The people are always willing to help you and the area supplies many recreational activities. There are many resources available on campus such as a counseling center, health center, food markets, post office, etc. There are many activities planned for students throughout the year and over 300 clubs. There's something for everyone here.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
App is amazing!! Great community. Beautiful place to be. Party scene is there if you want it but no pressure at all if you don't. Dorms are small but worth it. All for a good price and education. Highly recommend it.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
The best decision I ever made was attending Appalachian State. The University is beautiful placed in the Appalachian Mountains. The campus houses a vast diversity of students and faculty, therefore making all cultures feel welcome.
  • Alum
  • 3 months ago
As a transfer student, Appalachian State offers a wide variety of ways for students to get involved.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
I am a freshman at App State and I love it! The curriculum is not too easy but not too hard. The people there are great and everyone is very helpful and cares about you. I am an African American student and I still love it.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Great school. There's so much to do and the atmosphere is one of unity and pride.Everyone is so nice, and the faculty and staff are incredibly helpful. I'd like to see more food options on campus, and more opportunities for off campus students. I'm proud to be a mountaineer and I love my school.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
If you are a non-traditional student it is a very difficult school to navigate. I was in the Psychology department and became just a face in very large classes. Appalachian also milks your money by making up all kinds of excuses not to accept many transfer credits. If you are in high school, want to live in the mountains and don't mind bitter cold winters, then the school is great. If you like the party scene, the school is great too. But if you are a transfer student, I would look elsewhere.
  • Senior
  • 3 months ago
I loved how sweet the staff are, also the atmosphere of the school is amazing. The only thing i would like to see change is maybe allowing students get more snow days.
  • Niche User
  • 3 months ago
When touring Appalachian State University, I was very impressed with the school environment and the staff/ students. Everyone was extremely kind and encouraging. They not only told us the pros, but told us also about the cons, such as the extreme winter weather.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 111
Back to Appalachian State University Home