Appalachian Bible College
68 reviews
  1. Mount Hope, WV
  2. 4 Year
Back to Appalachian Bible College Home

Reviews

68 reviews
  • Excellent
    19
  • Very Good
    30
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    4
  • Terrible
    3
We have students from around the world with varying economic backgrounds. Most people agree politically and religiously, but there is acceptance all around. Sexual orientation is herterosexual or you probably won't be attending ABC for long
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
There is no smoking, drinking, or drug use allowed or used at Appalachian Bible college.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Most of the students plan to become pastors, missionaries, summer camp workers, or school teachers. These people will have a pretty easy time following their plans from the degrees offered. I want to open a community center for foster teens. I am getting a counseling minor along with my two BAs that will either prepare me to go straight into this or allow me to get a masters related to my field of work.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
The course quality is better than average, and the professors do their best to help us learn the material in a way that will stick with us for life. Classes are mostly lecture style with questions freely asked throughout. Class size can vary from 4-50.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
We do not have problems with sexual assault, but if there were a case of it I know the students and faculty would do everything they could to help the victim and to bring the rapist to justice. Our school does a great job of reminding us of safety measures and of alerting us to possible risks in the area. We do not have a problem with campus crime either. Dorms are locked at curfew and there are night time security guards that do a great job.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
The dorms vary based on the building you are in. Hoops (girl's dorm) is the newest dorm and is kinda like living in a hotel without room service and with all the other guests being people you know and spend time with. Des Planes (girl's dorm) is the oldest dorm and houses most of the girls as it is cheaper to stay there. DP's temperature is regulated whereas Hoops can be set to personal preference. Hoops has a nicer facility, but DP has a better community and people in DP are more involved with campus life. McCarrell is the men's dorm and I don't know as much about it. It is the middle aged dorm and all the bathrooms in it are being redone due to a kind donation to the school. Twice a week you get together with the people on your floor to have a Bible study and prayer time. This helps us to get close and come to know each other. We share prayer requests and it is amazing to see how God works as the godly people around you pray.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
ABC has soccer and basketball for men and basketball some years for women. The school does a good job of turning out to support the teams. For full school participation, we have in-school ultimate Frisbee in the fall and dodge-ball in the spring.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
The academic studies are hard, but it means the students are gaining a good education. The teachers are fair, but helpful. If you are having health problems a lot of teachers will work with you and extend dates for you. They genuinely care when you have a problem and want to help you through it. If you don't understand things the teachers will meet with you to help you understand. The other students have a heart for God and for service. In one year I found some of the best friends I have had my whole life. There are plenty of opportunities for work or fun. My favorite experiences were with fellow students studying the Bible, praying, playing games, and hanging out. I would absolutely pick this school again and recommend it.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
The work load was light for me this previous semester. The atmosphere is great. The faculty are encouraging and helpful. The fellow students are fun and easy to get along with.
  • College Freshman
  • 9 months ago
I feel completely safe and secure. I don't feel as if anything of mine would ever be stolen or that I could be physically harmed in any way. Even though the surrounding community is rather dangerous, campus feels completely safe.
  • College Freshman
  • 9 months ago
The professors care very much about your education. They are not all extreme quality in their profession but they take time out of their schedule to help you. The classes all have a main focal point that they follow well. Because it is a Bible school the focus on Scripture is vital.
  • College Freshman
  • 9 months ago
There are many opportunities for on campus jobs. The chairmen of the majors do their best to find opportunities for students to have internships. There are many missions based internships.
  • College Freshman
  • 9 months ago
I enjoy living on campus. The social atmosphere is great and there is an option for quality and price. The nicer dorm building is very fancy but a little more expensive. I prefer the cheaper building, which doesn't have as many luxuries but suits me fine. The RAs are all helpful and enforcing. I haven't had a problem yet with people being obnoxious, waiting for a shower or finding the space inconvenient.
  • College Freshman
  • 9 months ago
Everyone gets very excited to cheer on the teams. Being a part of an athletic team there, it is great to see everyone come out for the games. Intermurals are main topics of conversation around campus. Everyone wants to be involved in them. I think the athletic programs create a friendly and growing atmosphere on campus.
  • College Freshman
  • 9 months ago
I have thoroughly enjoyed my experience at school so far. I have become involved in many various activities, but I am excited to see that it does not conflict with my grades and studied. Making so many friends, and traveling with the volleyball team and choir have been the highlights so far. I found the work load to be fairly easy and a high GPA very attainable. Overall, college has been great so far!
  • College Freshman
  • 9 months ago
Appalachian Bible College has been a huge blessing in my life so far. I have grown so much in so many ways while attending here! The atmosphere of the faculty and students here is so welcoming and friendly! I have learned many valuable life lessons since attending here from freshman year up until my current day junior year!
  • College Junior
  • 12 months ago
Parking is free. If your car isn't in the proper place at night then usually you will receive a fine.
  • College Sophomore
  • Apr 23 2014
I'm not sure. Internships are available after your junior year.
  • College Sophomore
  • Sep 16 2013
There are not many athletics, but the student body is very supportive. Give the glory to God.
  • College Sophomore
  • Sep 16 2013
The work load is normal for any college situation. Some classes have more work depending on the nature of the class. I thoroughly enjoy learning at ABC.
  • College Sophomore
  • Sep 16 2013
  • 1 of 4
Back to Appalachian Bible College Home