American Public University System
1,926 reviews
  1. 4 Year (Online)
Back to American Public University System Home

Reviews

1,926 reviews
  • Excellent
    721
  • Very Good
    734
  • Average
    417
  • Poor
    37
  • Terrible
    17
Great school & such helpful and sweet people to assist you when ya need it. Easy access and can go with you anywhere as long as you have a computer and internet its all ready to go.
  • Freshman
  • 9 days ago
Love the whole online experience. The professors have made each course engaging and are all easy to talk to and communicate with. The work is also engaging and fun to learn. The forums and class discussions make one think and are a great source of knowledge. I highly recommend this school.
  • Sophomore
  • 14 days ago
I really enjoyed American Public University System. My classes were interesting, and the Professors really kept the class engaged in conversation. Having my books online was incredibly helpful. The staff automatically added my books to my account and all I had to do was verify that I wanted an electronic book. The option to purchase a hard copy was available as well. I purchased a copy of my Native American History book since I found it to be incredibly interesting. My Professors were quick to respond to any questions I had and the entire staff at APU was fantastic. I would highly recommend this school.
  • Graduate Student
  • 20 days ago
They are amazing. Knowledgeable instructors. You pick what classes you register for based on your degree plan, no auto register. They work with you on payments and have multiple payment options.
  • Junior
  • 20 days ago
American Public University is a wonderful (if not the best) on-line school I have attended. The professors, students, and the atmosphere are diverse while the website is easy to navigate and learn your way around. Customer service for the library, financial aid, and anything else is superb. Classes are structured well, and for the most part the same, but will challenge you, help you grow, and be just as effective as a normal physical school. My only concern is the lack of a wider variety of academics and the somewhat dull school campus. I would like to see more degree plans such as linguistics focused and language focused degrees, PhD programs, and a teaching certificate program thrown in the mix. As for the campus, there should be a live chat room, a webcam chat room, and more options for students to get to know one another.
  • Senior
  • 21 days ago
Really have enjoyed my time at APUS. It has really challenged me to engage as a student and grow as a learner. The forum setting is something that is truly a great learning tool that provides an opportunity to learn from and engage with other students.
  • Graduate Student
  • 21 days ago
I enjoyed the flexibility of the while experience. I could take course at my discretion as fast and as close together as I wanted. The different faculty advisors and professors are great at communicating with students. I felt like I was valued and that I learned what I set out to learn and truly earned my degree. I would take courses again with AMU.
  • Alum
  • 21 days ago
Great school with professors more than willing to help. Undergrad books are free due to a grant. The cost per hour is lower than MANY other schools.

The class work is relevant and not overwhelming if taking more than two classes at a time.
  • Junior
  • 21 days ago
THIS school is great. Even though it's correspondence, I've learned so much. It's a lot of reading and writing, but I can discuss homeland security and national security for days. Moreover, the degree was crucial for me getting my dream job in the DOJ. Don't pass this place up just because it's online. Only those who aren't self-disciplined can't learn here.
  • Graduate Student
  • 21 days ago
I love this university. It is affordable, its resources are up-to-date, and it is enjoyable. I am currently undergoing graduate coursework. My graduate degree is space studies with an emphasis in aerospace science. Each course is eight weeks, so the students enrolled simply have to focus on one course instead of having multiple courses spread out through a semester. It is not easy, nor should it be. The workload is intense. I often read about 250 pages a week for just one course. I find myself ascertaining knowledge though faster than I had thought practicable. For that I am grateful. The only thing I would like to see improved is tech support. One individual had me install the wrong software. Still, I highly recommend this university!
  • Graduate Student
  • 21 days ago
Unlike another online school I attended, APUS has given me the leeway to have a full-time job and take full-time classes. Working in an ICU, I don't have traditional work hours but the work-load with APUS has been great! I have enjoyed my professors (so far) and they ask for nothing but the best work from their students. The online classroom is also easy to navigate. They grade a lot on the discussions but the subjects and work put into them isn't nearly as demanding as other online colleges.
  • Graduate Student
  • 28 days ago
I really enjoy this school because I'm in the military and we move around quite a bit. This constant moving makes it difficult to go to class at a brick and mortar school. The classes are for the most part enjoyable and challenging.
  • Freshman
  • 28 days ago
American Public University System and American Military University are great educational institutions for full-time employed individuals. This university has afforded me the opportunity to pursue my degree at my pace with little stress. I would, and do, recommend this university to anyone.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
This school was very helpful and provided the freedom needed from an online college. I would highly suggest this college to anyone wanting to attend a online college program.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The American Public University System is very convenient with online courses and online course materials provided through their online library/campus. Absolutely no hard copies of book are needed. The educators are friendly and fair in my experience and most of the courses follow the same basic guidelines so it is easy to transition from class to class. Pretty good transfer credits from military service.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
American Public University System is a great school to attend. One reason for that is because it is challenging. From learning how to manage time to learning how to write, APUS would challenge you to hone these skills. At APUS your writing skills are enhanced every week, as written communication is a core feature of this institution. In addition, your management skills are also enhance because studying online is not as easily manageable as it is often assumed. Online institutions require more student participation than traditional institutions. As such, your management skills are enhanced. Attending APUS is a wise choice!
  • Graduate Student
  • 3 months ago
The school is great and helps me with all of my needs while I'm in Korea for my military duties. I am able to logging in anywhere i have internet access and my teachers are good about getting back to me. The only issue I have really had is that it can be a bit of a long process to get my Grant money after the school has received it. I am currently in my freshman year and will be signing up for more classes this year overall i have had a very positive experience.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I was excited to begin after finding out that this was a legitimate, respected institution that would help me go through a degree and certificate program completely online. However, disappointment set in after coming to terms with the fact that APU does not utilize video learning. As in, a recorded teacher leading the class. The setup with Blackboard and no physical teacher, as I thought there would be did not mesh with my learning style. Therefore, I had to bow out in only the second week of classes. The staff and counselors were incredibly friendly and helpful though.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I have been attending APUS/AMU for about a year now and I could not have had a better college experience. The classes are accelerated 8 week courses and are chock full of information and resources to help the students be successful.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
so far, my experience ha been positive. I have returned to finish what I started many years ago. I had never done online learning prior to this experience, and they have made my experience better than I anticipated.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 97
Back to American Public University System Home