Allegheny College
824 reviews
  1. Meadville, PA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Allegheny College Home

Reviews

824 reviews
  • Excellent
    104
  • Very Good
    254
  • Average
    343
  • Poor
    81
  • Terrible
    42
As a small liberal arts college relatively few people have heard of Allegheny, but this does nothing to diminish the value of the education or experiences I've gained from it. The professors here are enthusiastic about their subjects and it shows in their teaching. Because Allegheny's small size classes are not over packed and you actually get one on one time with professors. They care more for their students than professors at large universities do. There's a ton of clubs and sports teams to join and your dorm mates can become fantastic friends. However it's not all perfect of course. The party scene is pretty weak though and housing can be a huge pain in the ass. There is also a large sticker price but Allegheny gives a lot away in financial aid, everyone I know here has some kind of financial aid. Also the main dining hall isn't the most appetizing. Still, Allegheny College is a fine institution that is worth at the least visiting.
  • Senior
  • 7 days ago
fantastic school, great professors, good party scene for school of its size , only minor defect is the Meadville area is very sub par.
  • Freshman
  • 23 days ago
I love Allegheny College! However, the courses here are rigorous and challenging. If you are planning to come here, be ready for the overload of work given.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Having a great time so far. Classes are tough, but teachers encourage the use of office hours. Athletic teams aren't the best, but we all support each other. Greek life is pretty big on campus, but it doesn't control everything.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Sexual assault will unfortunately be a problem on every college campus. Allegheny mains, students, and offices supported students who were victims of sexual assault through informing the community of safe practices, helping victims, and taking appropriate action in cases of sexual assault.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 4 months ago
Allegheny isn't as well-known as it ought to be. However, you're able to see how valuable your education was only after you've left campus. Despite the lack of a prestigious name, once internships and employers see your Allegheny work-ethic and how diverse your interests are you are help in high-regard.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 4 months ago
If you're looking for marble staircases and oak bed-frames then SERIOUSLY reconsider why you want to go to college. Allegheny does a great job at bringing together students fro diverse socioeconomic backgrounds. As such, money that might otherwise be spent on the latest and greatest drops/amenities will be bypassed to ensure a quality education where diverse opinions, experiences, and interests intersect in the Allegheny community. As such, the dorms here are average, sometimes a little under-par. But, the college-owned apartments are FANTASTIC and the houses are a lot of fun. There's a place for everyone.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 4 months ago
Greek life here is big. But, it doesn't fit the typical "Animal House" stereotype. I personally felt indifferent to the greek life merely because of the imprint Greek Life has left on American higher Education. However, that being said, many of my closest friends were greek. They were a fun bunch o hangout with but didn't dominate the social scene. You're able to find the comradely that comes with the Greek system on other avenues of community (club sports teams, ensembles, from halls, etc.).
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 4 months ago
Fantastic, state-of-the-art gym that is open to varsity and non-varsity athletes. There is never any judgement in the gym--regardless of whether you are a pro body builder or are simply trying out this new "working out" thing. Having visited many similar DIII gyms, Allegheny's is one of the best in the NCAC conference and certainly one of the best among similar schools across the country.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 4 months ago
Allegheny College isn't for everyone. Everyone has broad, diverse interests that one wouldn't expect to naturally go together (rugby, poli-sci major, drummer, volleyball, ASG consultant, etc.). But, these interests are honed with enthusiastic admins who want to see their students succeed. You can truly take an idea and run with it knowing that faculty/staff are in your corner.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 4 months ago
Professors email regularly about internship and job opportunities and usually post them on their office doors. It's hard to miss.
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
I love attending Allegheny College. The people make it a home and the classes make it rigorous and stimulating.
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
You're never far from where you need to go, whether it's for food or classes. Each building has their own community and everyone mixes. It's comfortable.
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
There's no hazing and I've only had good experiences, even as a non-Greek. I would try and join if it weren't so expensive.
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
I just wish Womens' Rugby was more than a Club Sport, since we put in just as much effort and have better results than our Football team.
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
My college challenges without belittling or condescending. Everyone's value is seen and respected and from what I've seen, my peers and professors only want me to do better each year.
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
Professors are highly educated and incredibly challenging. This is not a school for a student who just wants to get by. They expect high quality work at all times, but are more than willing to help students and provide guidance as needed.
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
Being that the school is so small and old you have a long standing history of high performing alumni in the work force who are often willing to vouch for students. When companies hire students from Allegheny they know that they are getting someone hardworking and motivated.
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
The campus is very small and very safe. Everyone knows everyone else, and if there ever is an issue all you have to do is ask for help and someone will be there.
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
The campus is a historic one. Housing isn't always super modern and up to date, but this is college and it all works out fine in the end. Everyone survives the dorm stage and upperclassmen usually end up with very fair housing options.
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
  • 1 of 42
Back to Allegheny College Home