Alabama State University
1,000 reviews
  1. Montgomery, AL
  2. 4 Year
Back to Alabama State University Home

Reviews

1,000 reviews
  • Excellent
    120
  • Very Good
    262
  • Average
    441
  • Poor
    94
  • Terrible
    83
Overall, I just like the whole environment because you will never feel left out no matter where you are. It's an easy place to make friends and maybe find your true love, if you're patient. one thing that can be changed is the café food. We don't like to eat the same stuff once and a week or eating pizza that has thick cheese.
  • Freshman
  • 1 day ago
Alabama State University is a great school for the overall HBCU experience, this school is best known academically for education, history, and criminal justice majors. I see a lot of potential and most professors in that field, but as far as my field I graduated with a Bachelor of Science in computer science, I just wish the school had better professors who wouldn't just write notes and expect you to learn that way. I wish we could have done more with applications and new era computer skills. Also just needs a more exciting view on computers science. Overall ASU is a great spirited school with the best band in the land! I loved president Boyd! She was like no other president I seen, actually seeing a university president care for the students like she did was amazing.
  • Alum
  • 9 days ago
The only thing i would like to see change is the cafeteria food. Besides that there isnt much else to change about this college. Student life here is awesome once you find the right people to hangout with and the right professors to take for courses, its full of great history and wisdom and some of the parties here make it that much better. Other resturants in and around campus makes up for the food in the college cafe but overall any student will really enjoy the student life experience at Alabama State University.
  • Senior
  • 11 days ago
My experience at Alabama State University is great 👍🏽 I'm not finish but so far it's been treating me well.. Being on the football team seeing how that life is and also having the wonderful experience of running track as well.. Just the whole vibe and just being at a HBCU is priceless..
  • Senior
  • 1 month ago
I love Alabama State university for many of reasons. One would be because it's an HBCU school & you'll learn things that you've never knew before. Also, I like the food choices in the cafe and on campus. I love how there's always something to do on campus no matter what day it is so you're never bored.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
the band is amazing and needs a lot more recognition than it gets a lot of people are sleep on the marching hornets when they really have a lot of potential
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
So far I like attending ASU. The professors I have are welcoming with open arms. They are always willing to help you with any problems you may have. The only thing I would like to see changed is renovating the buildings. Some of these buildings are so old and run down. Overall ASU to me is I good school to go to.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
As a Student at Alabama A&M University I have had a wonderful experience throughout my 3 years attending the school. The school has provided a excellent academic program and opportunities for me. also this school has helped me grow as an individual by allowing me to network with others.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
My experience has been bad the dorms are really dirty the class rooms as well and i haven't really learn anything here, admissions is very unorganized and rude many people are leaving here.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I love my HBCU. Students on this campus really have school spirit. Everyone looks out for everyone. It's no problem asking anyone for help, if needed. The staff here are really nice and understanding. They make sure that everything is with the students no matter what.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Honestly the most our campus police are worried about is giving boots for not having a parking decal! The community around our school isn't the best but we deal!
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
Alumni network is pretty big they support a lot of different things on campus.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
campus housing is probably the worse thing about my school. I haven't had to deal with it in a while but when I did it was a headache. Its mostly just getting housing thats the worse, and some of the dorms really need an upgrade!
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
greek housing sucks. I am not greek but its not any that are really apart of campus life except for one. Greek life affects the atmosphere in a pretty big way they often times make some social events better than others.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
For the most part our sport life is ok. We aren't always the best but participation from students make it worth while.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
I have been at my school for going on 5 years now. The experience when I first arrived was fine but going into the years I have found it difficult to deal. Mostly with the help that we do not receive from the people who work in various offices. The professors are fine in my major I enjoy my professors.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
There are many options to get internships, because opportunity is here and Alabama state will do everything possible to make sure you get that opportunity.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
From the time I been here I have not had any problems with any of my professors.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Alabama state university is very safe & the police try very hard to keep peace in our community.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
It's understandable that the upperclassmen get better dorms but in my opinion I feel all the dorms should look nice and clean.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 50
Back to Alabama State University Home