Academy of Art University
2,097 reviews
  1. San Francisco, CA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Academy of Art University Home

Reviews

2,097 reviews
  • Excellent
    493
  • Very Good
    853
  • Average
    634
  • Poor
    83
  • Terrible
    34
I take all my classes online, so this means I can go to school in California and still live and maintain my full-time job in Texas. I love that I can get my degree all while living my life in another state. The only downside is paying out of state tuition, but to have an education that I can trust isn't that worth it? The Academy of Art University is always willing to answer any questions I have whether it be in the class when I can just email my professor, or ask the office when I can set up an appointment that fits my schedule and theirs. They also send you emails when they have something going on around campus, and being online they will let you know when it is still something you can participate in from home!
  • Freshman
  • 3 days ago
Overall I feel the instructors are extremely knowledgeable about the industry. The teachers are very helpful and communicate extremely well. Some things I'd like to change is the class structure can be inconsistent from one class to the next. I would highly recommend Academy of Art University for anyone looking to get the very best art education.
  • Freshman
  • 12 days ago
Absolutely bad college experience. This "university" has poor student body quality and most people cannot graduate within four years of study. Most of the courses have the online version makes the course worthless. You could finish your degree online... Don't waste your money unless you are pretty sure you can graduate from one of its best ranked major. By the way, the school of MPT (film) is poorly managed. Many students drop off school during the first semester. Poor academics.
  • Freshman
  • 26 days ago
Academy of Art is a great school and I am fortunate to be enrolled here. Most of the buildings are beautiful and the faculty are passionate. They have worked in the industry for a minimum of five years and they love what they do. I feel like I am learning techniques the professionals use. Something that would really help us students is if our equipment worked. There are only two printers at the Polk building and m of the time they are out of order. The printing system there is also very difficult to comprehend. We also need better maintenance on our sewing machines and irons. Our library is also very small for how many students we have. Muslin, a form of "practice fabric," should be provided for us as well as dot paper. Our tuition is high enough that it seems like it wouldn't be an issue. Majoring in fashion, I touch mainly on fashion-related subjects. I'm sure other departments have obstacles they encounter when trying to successfully complete their assignments.
  • Junior
  • 1 month ago
I attend online, the program is easy to use, the instructors are proactive and the content is never boring. Its my dream school and I am thankful daily that i got accepted.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I attend the Academy of Art University online education program. I love the easy access available to the students. Everything a student needs is available to them at all times! From financial aid information to technical help, everything needed is available twenty four hours a day. The only thing I would change is the availability of some of the professors. Many times I needed help from a professor, and I'd have to wait 3-5 days at a time, which would force me to put off my assignments!
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I did not have any problems.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
I'm more of a visual learner. So these online classes are best for me. They make sense and if I don't hear something correctly or I miss something(and I always don't hear everything), I can just go back to read it again or play the video.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
It's really nice. It's easy to navigate through.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
It's really good for the work they give. It's relevant to the real world.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
They review your financial aid with you. What they don't review is the charges they will charge for dropping a class for another. They're not on top of the financial aid like they should be.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
So far at my school it been really good to me and not really confusing that I suspected it to be and theirs a lot of flexibility for your classes if your taking online classes. I'm not really sure for on campus students and their were a few frustrations and miscommunication about things but we figured things out and I like it so far.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I prefer online courses more because I have a eye condition so I feel more better working at home on the computer than to be in a actual classroom, and I get things done more faster by myself with others. I mean sometimes you have to work in groups but I just like it more better this way and if I have problems with something I can always ask a fellow classmate or my teacher for help with a certain subject.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
They update you with a lot of information on events that you might want to check out and other workers at the schools are nice and helpful and helping you out with needing help with homework and other subjects.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I feel like some classes are a little too big but the professors are sometime nice or very hard on you but they do it because they care about you. And some learning technics the teachers offer are sometimes great and sometimes not so great just all depend on the teachers that's teaching. And courses are a little stressful but you learn a lot and you got a lot of support from people that works there.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
They're very caring and want you to do good in whatever field your taking at the school and very concerned and really push you in your career.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
My degree major at the school is a BFA (Bachelor of Fine Arts) and I majored in Fashion Design and I love it. Teachers are very helpful and advisors and you learn a lot of new things. They give you all your assignments for that whole entire week and everything due by a Saturday night.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
People their are very friendly and nice and helpful and also care about your needs and wants at the school.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I'm loving my experience so far!
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
Loving my online course experience. Everything is easy to navigate instructors are available and helpful and encouraging. My assignments are clear fun and interesting. The ability to interact with my classmates makes me feel like I'm on campus.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 105
Back to Academy of Art University Home