Abilene Christian University
1,173 reviews
  1. Abilene, TX
  2. 4 Year
Back to Abilene Christian University Home

Reviews

1,173 reviews
  • Excellent
    205
  • Very Good
    477
  • Average
    396
  • Poor
    70
  • Terrible
    25
Abilene Christian University is a great school that helps to further one's spiritual journey as well as their academic education. The professors are all very knowledgeable and care a lot about their students. Classes can be difficult at times, but the smaller sizes of the classes helps the learning situation and lets professors talk to and get to know individual students. I believe that there could be more activities available for freshman who want to get involved but do not know how to. Many people want to meet others with similar interests, but they do not know how to accomplish this.
  • Freshman
  • 5 days ago
Good academics, but pricey. Campus is beautiful. Not as conservative as expected from a church of Christ based school
  • Sophomore
  • 7 days ago
My experience at Abilene Christian University has been life changing. I have learned so much academically, but also about myself as a person. The professors are amazing and always are willing to help their students. One thing I would like to see change at ACU is the school spirit. However, we are building a new stadium in hopes that more students will attend games. Overall, ACU is an amazing school and I love it!
  • Junior
  • 8 days ago
ACU is a great school for someone who likes a sense of community and a relatively small school. The professors are excellent and take a genuine interest in their students. In addition, there are many free resources available on campus e.g. writing center, speaking center, tutoring, etc.

The campus is beautiful and safe and the food is constantly improving. There are a number of social clubs and different groups you can join on campus and it's pretty diverse. Most of your experiences will be largely based on your personality and the groups of friends you choose.

A downside is that ACU is too expensive. Although the quality of education is great, you begin to truly wonder if it is really worth it. Helps a bit that they offer tons of financial aid, and they are cooperative and helpful to students.

All in all, I would say for me personally, ACU has been a great place to grow and learn.
  • Senior
  • 10 days ago
As an international student, I was very afraid to begin college in a whole new environment. But Abilene Christian University didn't make me feel that way. It was so welcoming and I quickly adjusted to everything around me. The first couple of weeks were hard but the people at Abilene Christian University were very helpful and welcoming. You could tell that they wanted you to be there and that if you needed help to just ask them and they would help you as much as they could. The campus isn't that big so everything was walking distance and it is a very nice campus. It is kept clean and managed very well. It is safe and I wouldn't trade going to any other place than Abilene Christian University. It has been a great experience.
  • Freshman
  • 15 days ago
(Completed on my phone)
I knew starting a new school online while working full-time and having a family would be a great challenge. What surprised me most was the closeness of the online community. My peers were understanding when troubled situations happened, but committed to the journey. Most of the group projects were true collections/collages of the entire group.
My program coordinator, Kim Gill, was amazing from day one. If a problem or questions arose, she would happily help find a solution. She's a true encourager especially when the most challenging things in my life were happening. Kim also gave great advice on study habits and resources to help along the way.
The best part of ACU and what makes it a true Christian University were the professors. The professors I encountered in the organizational development and conflict resolution fields were blessed beings that gave prayers freely but without force.
  • Graduate Student
  • 24 days ago
There is really no night life. The toutoring is great and really helpful. The president needs to be more active and come up with more activities that involve culture.
  • Freshman
  • 24 days ago
The advisors are knowledgeable. The professors are excellent. The coursework is grueling but fair. Know APA. I am glad I returned here for the doctoral program.
  • Graduate Student
  • 25 days ago
I love it, even though I barely just finished my first semester of my first year of college. The professors are so welcoming and truly get to know you, unlike big universities. The classes are smaller so you get the chance to really know the people you spend time with. Not to mention how close-knit the community of Abilene is itself. The town and university are fantastic and I couldn't imagine going to school anywhere else.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
Abilene Christian is a great university, their sports and academics are exceptional but the one thing I'm not a huge fan of is the location.
  • Niche User
  • 1 month ago
I am planning on visiting ACU very soon. I am inlove with this school. I love that it is Christ-centered and from what I hear, everyone there is very welcoming.
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
ACU has been a great environment for me to start my college career. It has offered me the type of Christian environment that I wanted to be in for my degree. The overall campus and student life has been amazing, and I especially enjoy the opportunity to praise God each afternoon at Chapel. The professors take an interest in you personally, and I am ready for my next step in Speech Pathology.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Amazing faith-based university with professors that care and want to see you succeed. Some more than others. Challenging yet worth it!
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Not a bad place. There are quite a few people that have the "Better than you attitude" If you want a sheltered Christian education, go here.
  • Niche User
  • 3 months ago
Abilene Christian University it probably not like most universities. When I first stepped on campus I knew that the faculty and staff took spreading the word of the Lord very seriously and I really appreciate that about this school. You can tell that the professors and faculty take their job seriously and really care for the students education. I don't know if you could say that about many universities so ACU should be proud of that fact.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Abilene Christian University is an excellent school. From the great professors to the small classes to the exciting traditions, ACU has definitely exceeded my expectations. I love the community that I have found here among both the students and the faculty. All of my professors have been excellent, and all my classes are great.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
So far I am a college freshman, so not much has happened except the whole moving thing. I love how well their professors and academics are accurate with their description. I was they had more activities for freshman to get involved in and to get to know more people at the university.
  • Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I feel as if the school is to expensive and it has no special features that makes it stands out. The teachers are great and I love how godly the people are here.
  • Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I love living in Gardner Hall. My RA is the best. Im friends with most of the girls in my hall.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
We don't have have Greek houses because the school doesn't want to encourage big parties but there is a couple of house that sisters plan to live in. At ACU you can't pledge until Sophomore year because they want to focus on settling in which I really like because I wouldn't want the pressure of trying to fit into a club, make friends, and learn how college works the first year. Everyone knows when pledging starts at ACU because the people pledging have to wear a uniform according to the club, they have to sing their song, and stand by their statue around campus.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 59
Back to Abilene Christian University Home